Ermak Travel Guide


The World at your fingertips 



Feel free to leave your comments below. If you want to share your knowledge, additional information or experience in a particular place your input is more than welcome.


Nicaragua Destinations Travel Guide




Flag of Nicaragua

Language: Spanish, Miskito

Currency: Córdoba (NIO)

Calling Code: 505




Description of Nicaragua

Nicaragua, officially the Republic of Nicaragua, is an American country located in the Central American isthmus. Its capital is Managua. Nicaragua is composed of 15 departments and 2 autonomous regions. The governing bodies are: the Legislative Power, the Executive Power, the Judicial Power and the Electoral Power. In separation of powers there is autonomy in each of these. The Republic of Nicaragua is located in the northern hemisphere, between the equatorial line and the Tropic of Cancer approximately between 11 ° and 15 ° north latitude and with respect to the Greenwich meridian, between 83 ° and 88 ° west longitude. The territory of Nicaragua has an approximate area of ​​129,494 km², 1 is bordered on the north by Honduras, on the south by Costa Rica, on the west by the Pacific Ocean and on the east by the Caribbean Sea. As for maritime limits, in the Pacific Ocean it borders El Salvador, Honduras and Costa Rica; while in the Caribbean Sea it borders Honduras, Colombia and Costa Rica. Nicaragua is a volcanic and tropical country, inside it also houses two large lakes: Lake Xolotlan and Lake Cocibolca or "Great Lake of Nicaragua".

The Nicaraguan people are multi-ethnic in nature and Spanish is the official language, although the languages ​​of indigenous indigenous peoples such as Creole Nicaraguan English, Miskito, Sumu or Sumo, Garífuna and Rama are also recognized. Inhabited by pre-Columbian peoples, the coast of the Pacific Ocean and part of the central region of the current territory of Nicaragua was conquered by Spain in the sixteenth century, where the Province of Nicaragua, which belonged to the Spanish Empire (1502-1821), was established. the First Mexican Empire (1821-1823), the United Provinces of Central America (1823-1824), and the Federal Republic of Central America (1824-1838). Nicaragua emerged as an independent country in 1838, under the name "State of Nicaragua "and began to be called the Republic of Nicaragua, since 1854.8

Regarding the integration of the so-called Costa de Mosquitos (the former Province of Taguzgalpa) in the Republic of Nicaragua, in 1860 the Managua Treaty was signed between Nicaragua and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, for which reason it renounced its Misquito protectorate and recognized the sovereignty of Nicaragua; while Nicaragua recognized the autonomy rights of the Miskitos. This is how the "Reserva Mosquitia" was born. One year after the Treaty of Managua was signed, 51 Witas (mayors) met in Bluefields and approved the Constitution of the Reserve, inspired by the British consul and which established, in general, English laws. The sovereignty of Nicaragua was in fact a formality, until in 1894 the Mosquitia was reincorporated officially and specifically to Nicaragua during the government of José Santos Zelaya, through the so-called Reincorporación de la Mosquitia carried out by Rigoberto Cabezas, who had to face an attempt of restoring its domination by the British, between July and August of that same year. Through the treaty Altamirano-Harrison of April 19, 1905, Great Britain recognized the absolute sovereignty of Nicaragua over the coast of Mosquitos, which meant abolishing the "Reserva Mosquitia", in exchange for guaranteeing the natives exemption from taxes and service military and guarantee them to live in their villages and ancestral territories according to their own customs.

After decades of intervention and strong foreign influence, through the Nicaraguan Revolution, a Junta de Gobierno de Reconstrucción Nacional (1979-1985) was established, constituted as a transitory government board in charge of the executive power and a Council of State in charge of the legislative power with the participation of representatives of the political, social, communal and religious spheres. In 1984, the first popular elections were held in accordance with the new Electoral Law. The Government Junta of National Reconstruction hands over power to the new elected President: Daniel Ortega Saavedra. Thus The transitory Board is dissolved.


Travel Destinations in Nicaragua


Bosawas Biosphere Reserve


Bosawas Biosphere Reserve is located in Jinotega Department of Nicaragua. Bosawas Biosphere reserve covers an area of 20,000 km² of tropical rain forest.

Juan Venado Island Natural Reserve

Juan Venado Island Natural Reserve protects wetlands of Juan Venado Island near city of Leon in Nicaragua.

Masaya Volcano National Park

Masaya Volcano National Park is named after Masaya Volcano that lies within its boundaries.

Miraflor Natural Reserve


Miraflor Natural Reserve is located 30 km from Estelí from Nicaragua. Miraflor Natural Park covers an area of 206 km².








blog comments powered by Disqus