Colombia Destinations Travel Guide


Language: Spanish

Currency: Peso (COP)

Calling Code: +57


Colombia, officially the Republic of Colombia, is a sovereign country located in the northwestern region of South America that is constituted in a unitary, social and democratic state of law whose form of government is presidential. It is a republic that is politically organized in 32 decentralized departments and the capital District of Bogotá, seat of the national government.

Including Malpelo Island, Roncador Cay and Serrana Bank, the country covers an area of ​​1,141,748 km², making it the twenty-sixth largest country in the world and the seventh largest in the Americas. It claims as territorial sea the area up to 12 nautical miles away, maintaining a border dispute with Venezuela and Nicaragua. It limits to the East with Venezuela and Brazil, to the South with Peru and Ecuador and to the Northwest with Panama; in terms of maritime limits, it borders Panama, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Honduras, Jamaica, Haiti, the Dominican Republic and Venezuela in the Caribbean Sea, and with Panama, Costa Rica and Ecuador in the Pacific Ocean.


Travel Destinations in Colombia


Amacayacu National Park

Amacayacu National Park is a nature reserve situated in the Amazonas Department in the Southern Colombia. It covers a total area of 2,935 sq km.

Cueva de los Guácharos

Cueva de los Guácharos is an underground system situated in Huila and Caqueta Provinces. It is protected by Cueva de los Guácharos National Park.

Los Estoraques Unique Natural Area

Los Estoraques Unique Natural Area is a protected area with natural geologic formations in the Cordillera Oriental mountain range.

Los Nevados National Park

Los Nevados National Natural Park is a nature reserve situated in the Cordillera Central of the Colombian Andes in the Quindío and Tolima departments.

Serranía de la Macarena

Serranía de la Macarena or Macarena mountains are covered by virgin forest is protected by La Macarena National Park.

Sumapaz Paramo

Sumaraz Paramo or Páramo de Sumapaz is an unique biosphere located in a Altiplano Cundiboyacense mountain range in the Cundinamarca Department.