The Republic of Fiji (Fij. Matanitu Tu-Vaka-i-koya ko Viti, Fij. Hindi Fidźi Ganaradźja) is an independent state in Oceania in the east of Melanesia. Located in the Fiji archipelago in the southwestern Pacific Ocean, north of New Zealand, east of Vanuatu, south of Tuvalu and west of Tonga.

The modern name of Fiji comes from the distorted name of the country's main island, Viti Levu, namely its Tongan pronunciation. Since ancient times, the inhabitants of the islands of Tonga had close ties with the Fijians, who were considered brave warriors and cruel cannibals in the region, and their weapons and other products were in great demand. The Fijians called their homeland "Viti" (Fij. Viti), but the Tongans pronounced it as "Fisi" (Tong. Fisi). Subsequently, this word was distorted by Europeans, namely the British navigator James Cook, who first put on the map the modern name of the islands - Fiji.

The Melanesian state of Fiji is a cluster of volcanic and coral islands located in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. The country's capital, Suva, is located approximately 1,770 km north of New Zealand and approximately 4,450 km southwest of the US state of Hawaii. The nearest archipelagos are the islands of Futuna (Horn), belonging to the French territory of Wallis and Futuna and located northeast of the Fiji islands, the islands of Tonga, lying to the east and belonging to the same state, as well as the New Hebrides, located to the west and belonging to Vanuatu.

Fiji has a total area of ​​18,274 km² (- 18,074 km²). The country is located on 332 islands, of which only one third of the islands are inhabited. The largest of them are the islands of Viti Levu and Vanua Levu, whose area is 10 429 km² and 5556 km², respectively. About 70% of the country's population lives on the island of Viti Levu. It has the three largest cities in Fiji (Suva, Nadi and Lautoka), as well as the main airport. Other major islands are Taveuni (470 km²), Kandavu (411 km²), Ngau (140 km²) and Koro (104 km²). Most Fiji islands are grouped into island groups, the largest of which are Vanua Levu, Viti Levu, Kandava, Lomaivichi, Yasawa, Mamanuta, Lau and Moala. The country also includes the island of Rotuma (43 km²), located about 650 km northwest of the city of Suva. From the north-west to the southeast, Fiji islands stretch for 595 km (not including Rotuma island), and from the north-east to the south-west - 454 km. The highest point of the country, Mount Tomanivi, reaches 1324 m and is located on the island of Viti Levu.

The northernmost island of Fiji is the Uea island, which is part of the Rotuma island group, the westernmost and at the same time the southernmost is the Tevaira reef, the easternmost is Vatoa.