Solomon islands


The Solomon Islands is a state in the southwestern part of the Pacific Ocean, in Melanesia, occupying most of the archipelago of the same name, as well as some other island groups. It consists of 992 islands, the total area of ​​which is 28,450 km² (land - 28,400 km²). The capital of the Solomon Islands is the city of Honiara.

The state occupies most of the eponymous archipelago in the Pacific Ocean, in Melanesia, east of the island of New Guinea. The largest islands are: Guadalcanal, Santa Isabel, Malaita, San Cristobal, Choiseul Bay, New Georgia. Also occupies the island groups of Duff, Santa Cruz, Swallow and the islands of Bellona, ​​Rennell, etc.

Islands of predominantly volcanic origin; active volcanoes. The highest point of the country is the Popomanaseu peak on Guadalcanal, 2,335 meters high. Short high-water rivers.

The climate is subequatorial, very humid. The average monthly temperatures are from 26 to 28 ° C. Precipitation from 2300 to 7500 mm per year. From May to October, the southeast trade wind predominates, from December to March, the northwest equatorial monsoon prevails.

Most of the islands are covered with evergreen forests (palm trees, ficus, etc.); in the driest places - savannahs; along the banks are mangroves. Fauna: rats, bats, crocodiles, lizards, snakes, giant frogs; birds - wild pigeons, parrots, etc.

Solomon Islands are located in a seismically dangerous region where earthquakes often occur. In January 2010, an earthquake occurred, the magnitude of the tremors of which was 7.2, the tremors triggered a tsunami with a maximum wave height of 2.5 meters. In total, about a thousand people were left homeless. On April 23, 2011, an earthquake with a magnitude of 6.9 shocks was noted. On February 6, 2013, an earthquake of magnitude 8.0 occurred.