Virrat (Swedish: Virdois) is a Finnish city located in the province of Pirkanmaa. The municipality was founded at the beginning of 1868, the founding decision was made in 1867. Virrat changed from rural to commercial on 1 January 1974, and from commercial to urban on 1 January 1977. Virrat previously belonged to Vaasa County, from where it was transferred to Häme County in early 1969.

In the Small Encyclopedia published in 1928, Virtain is considered to belong to Pohjois-Satakunta. The New Encyclopedia, published in the 1960s, mentions Virrat as belonging to the province of Southern Ostrobothnia. The 1968 Finland Handbook defines Virtain as being located in Pirkanmaa on the borders of Southern Ostrobothnia and Central Finland in historic Satakunta.

The streams are home to 6,536 people and cover an area of ​​1,299.08 km2, of which 136.41 km2 are water bodies. The population density is 5.62 inhabitants / km2.

Virta's neighboring municipalities are Alavus, Keuruu, Kihniö, Mänttä-Vilppula, Ruovesi, Seinäjoki, Ylöjärvi and Ähtäri.

Virtain Church was built in 1772–1774 under the leadership of church builder Antti Hakola. Virtai Parish belongs to the Diocese of Lapua.