Ylöjärvi is a city in Pirkanmaa. The neighboring municipalities of Ylöjärvi are Hämeenkyrö, Ikaalinen, Kihniö, Nokia, Parkano, Ruovesi, Tampere and Virrat. The city covers an area of ​​1,324.14 square kilometers and has a population of 33,236. At the beginning of 1954, the western part of Teisko municipality, west of Lake Näsijärvi, was divided between Ylöjärvi and Kuru. On 1 January 2007, the Association of Municipalities of the City of Ylöjärvi and the Municipality of Viljakkala entered into force. The municipality of Kuru was incorporated into Ylöjärvi on 1 January 2009. The coat of arms of Ylöjärvi was designed by Gustaf von Numers and confirmed in 1954.

Ylöjärvi is located northwest of Tampere on the shores of Lake Näsijärvi and is part of the Tampere metropolitan area and the center of Tampere. The distance to Tampere is 14, to Helsinki 189 and to Turku 164 kilometers. The Tampere – Seinäjoki line, highway 3 from Tampere to Vaasa and main road 65 from Ylöjärvi to Virra run through Ylöjärvi. The railway, completed in 1971, has no passenger seats in the Ylöjärvi area, so buses handle all public transport.

Ylöjärvi is a rural town. It does not have a clear center: the Tampere-Vaasa road and the Tampere-Seinäjoki railway divide the municipality's city center into two distinct parts, the church village and Soppeenmäki. Other parts of Lake Ylöjärvi include Asuntila, Vuorentausta, Siivikkala, Metsäkylä, Haavisto, Kuru, Viljakkala, Vahanta, Takamaa and Mutala.

In 2020, the city’s municipal tax was 20.50 percent. The population of Lake Ylöjärvi has grown quite strongly in recent years in the intake of Tampere; this is especially true in the Metsäkylä and Asuntila areas. The age structure of the population is also relatively young.