10 largest cities in Germany
Frankfurt am Main




Würzburg (Latinized Herbipolis; until the 19th century also Wirzburg) is a city in Bavaria (district of Lower Franconia). The city is the seat of the government of Lower Franconia and the District Office of Würzburg, an important school and university location and (since 742) the seat of the diocese of the same name and thus the spiritual center of Main Franconia.

With around 128,000 inhabitants, the city on the Main is the seventh largest city in Bavaria, after Munich, Nuremberg, Augsburg, Regensburg, Ingolstadt and Fürth. In 2000, Würzburg was still in fourth place, but in contrast to most of the larger cities in Bavaria, the number of inhabitants in the Lower Franconian metropolis no longer increased. Würzburg has been one of the three newly created regional centers of the Free State of Bavaria since 2018.

In the year 704 Würzburg was first mentioned as a fortification "Virteburh" ("in castello Virteburh"). Already in the Middle Ages the city was an important economic, spiritual and sovereign center. The supraregional importance remained high until the industrial revolution. An impressive cityscape was created, comparable to outstanding central European old towns such as Krakow. This was badly damaged in the Second World War, especially by the bombing on March 16, 1945. During the reconstruction, important individual monuments such as most of the churches in the old town were externally reconstructed, but only a few town house ensembles and traditional islands. The Würzburg Residence, which was also partially badly damaged during the war and subsequently restored, with its courtyard garden and Residenzplatz, was included in the UNESCO World Heritage List in 1981. After Aachen Cathedral and together with Speyer Cathedral, it was the third German building on the list. With the Julius Maximilians University, which is in the tradition of the High School in Würzburg founded in 1402 and is therefore the oldest university in Bavaria, the city is one of the classic German university cities. The Würzburg-Schweinfurt University of Applied Sciences and the Würzburg University of Music, founded in 1797, are further academic institutions. 35,600 students (as of winter semester 2017/18) and other university members shape urban life.