Seven Sisters

Seven Sisters

Location: Sussex Map

Age: 60- 130 million years

Height: 253 ft (77 m)


Description of Seven Sisters

Seven Sisters is a prominent white chalk cliff on the British shores situated in Sussex province in United Kingdom. This prominent geological formation of the region was formed 60- 130 million years ago. They are part of the South Downs in East Sussex, between the towns of Seaford and Eastbourne in southern England. They are inside the Seven Sisters Country Park. They are the remains of dry valleys in the chalk of the South Downs, which are slowly being eroded by the sea.

The Siete Hermanas cliffs are occasionally used in movies and television productions as a substitute for Dover's most famous white cliffs, as they are relatively free of anachronistic modern developments and are also allowed to erode naturally. As a result, the Seven Sisters and Beachy Head are still bright white, while the white cliffs of Dover are protected due to the important port and therefore are increasingly covered by vegetation and turn green as a result. These cliffs appear at the beginning of the film Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves, and also at the end of the film Atonement, where Robbie and Cecilia always wanted to live.

From west to east, the sequence begins just east of Cuckmere Haven. The peaks of the cliffs and the falls between them are named individually. They are listed below. There are seven hills, with an octave that is being created by the erosion of the sea.


Seven Sisters

Haven Brow
Short Bottom
Short Brow
Limekiln Bottom
Rough Brow
Rough Bottom
Brass Point
Gap Bottom
Flagstaff Point (continuing into Flagstaff Brow)
Flagstaff Bottom
Flat Hill
Flathill Bottom
Baily's Hill
Michel Dean
Went Hill Brow
Just east of the last peak is Birling Gap. Beyond, on the top of the next hill, is the Belle Tout lighthouse and, beyond, Beachy Head. A lighthouse on the sea marks the last promontory. The South Downs Way [path of South Downs] runs along the edge of the cliffs, following a very winding course.

A photo from the east of the Seven Sisters is included as one of the default screensaver landscapes that come with Microsoft Windows 7.

Many places around the area are named after the cliffs, including the Seven Sisters Sheep Center