Ermak Travel Guide


The World at your fingertips 



Sizergh Castle

Sizergh Castle


Location: Off A591 & A590, Sizergh, Cumbria    Map

Tel. 015395 60951

Open: Apr- Oct: Sun- Thu




Description of Sizergh Castle

Sizergh is a medieval citadel situated in Helsington parish in Cumbria County of United Kingdom. Sizergh Castle was constructed in 14th century. During Elizabethan age it was improved and Tudor style residence was added to the military fortifications that lost much of its strategic importance. It was surrounded by a large garden that covers an area of 647 hectares (1,600 acres). It is famous residence of Catherine Parr, the sixth and final wife of Henry VIII who was lucky enough to outlive her husband. The castle is open to the public and boast a rich collection of old paintings.


The Deincourt family owned the lands around Sizergh Castle from 1170, and in the marriage of Elizabeth Deincourt with Sir William Stirkeland in 1239, the estate passed into the hands of the Strickland family, who owned it until it was donated to the Foundation National in 1950. The family still lives in the castle.

The heart of the medieval castle is a 14th century solar tower surrounded by a manor house. It was enlarged in the Elizabethan era first, and in 1770 again, expanding the Great Hall in Georgian style.

The interior is lined with carved oak panels, especially the Inlaid Chamber (Chamber of inlays), furnished with furniture of the period and paneling inlaid with poplar and oak. The contents of this camera were sold to the Victoria and Alberto Museum, which during part of the 20th century began to return the panels little by little. All of them were restored in 1999 under a long-term loan.

Sizergh Castle houses a collection of paintings, including portraits of María de Modena and her daughter Luisa María Teresa Stuart, painted by Alexis Simon Belle.




Sizergh Castle

Sizergh Castle





blog comments powered by Disqus