Blenheim Palace

Blenheim Palace


Location: Woodstock, Oxfordshite Map

Tel. 08700- 602 080

Palace and gardens: Open: 10:30am- 5:30pm daily mid- Feb- mid- Dec  

Closed: Nov & Dec: Mon & Tue

Park is open 9am -5pm  daily


Description of Blenheim Palace

Blenheim Palace is a beautiful residence situated in Woodstock, Oxfordshite in United Kingdom. Although called "palace" Blenheim Palace is actually doesn't belong to a Royal House. It is a private residence and seat of dukes of Marlborough. Blenheim Palace was constructed in 1705- 1724 and shortly thereafter presented to John Churchill, the first Duke of Marlborough for his victory in the Blenheim Battle over French and Bavarians on 13 August 1704. The palace was the scene of numerous political intrigues, such as those that led to Marlborough's exile, the disgrace of the Duchess or the irreparable damage to the reputation of its architect, John Vanbrugh. Conceived in a style typical of English Baroque and, therefore, very rare, the palace is currently more appreciated than it was in the 1720s when its construction was subject to criticism not very favorable. The existing combination between family mansion, mausoleum and national monument is totally unique.

The palace is also known to be the birthplace of British Prime Minister Winston Churchill.

In 1987 Unesco declared the building a World Heritage Site.