Location: Hyde Parish, Bedfordshire
Constructed: 15th century
Description of Someries Castle
Someries Castle is a medieval citadel near a town of Luton in
the Hyde Parish, Bedfordshire in United Kingdom. This fortified manor house
was erected in the 15th century for Sir John Wenlock, whose ghost was still
to haunt the castle. At least that is what the locals claim. Someries Castle was
partly demolished in the 18th century, but after recent reconstruction
project its brick work have been preserved and restored.
The name "Someries Castle" is sold by William de Someries (or
Somerys), who lived on the spot while the title "castle" is
controversial, as it is not a fortress, but rather a fortified manor
house. The place was purchased by Wenlock in 1430 and he started the
construction of a manor house. The house is unique as it is
considered one of the first brick buildings in England. The house
was not completed by Wenlock, and it was partially demolished in the
1700s. The port is partly preserved, and there are remains of the
original brick. It incorporates a chapel and monastery building.
Remains of the original manor house and / or former Norman fortress
can be seen as earthquakes around the site where the house
originally stood. The stone from the manor house was used to build
nearby farm buildings in the 17th century.
In February 2007
the ruin was closed to the public to renovate it and make it safe to
move around. A scaffold was erected, which destroyed a smaller part
of the original walls. The ruins were reopened in 2008.