Ghost town of Darwin takes its name from Dr.
E. Darwin French who lead an expedition in 1860 in search of legendary Lost
Gunsight lode. Although he did not find it, he did discover some silver
deposits just west of the Death Valley. A mining site was found that was
transferred into a town in 1875. Darwin began to grow after silver and lead
discovery in 1874 that led to population increase. Darwin post
office opened in 1875. It was briefly closed in 1902 and later
remained. The continued to grow when Eichbaum Toll Road opened in
1926. It let to the opening of the Death Valley from the west. When
Death Valley became a National Monument in 1933 it was decided to
buy the toll road to allow free access to the new park. In
1937 a new rail road branch bypassed Darwin, thus effectively
isolating the town. Its population quickly declined.