Via Dolorosa (Jerusalem)

Via Dolorosa is a Latin term that means "Way of Grief" or "Way of Suffering". It is the path that Jesus Christ took in his last hours of his physical life. The road was drawn by the Roman Catholic monks in the 12th century upon conquest of Jerusalem by the Crusaders. The base of their knowledge was an oral tradition that existed here for centuries. Actual archeological digs were undertaken in the 19th and 20th century linking description in the Gospels to actual historic sites. It is broken into fourteen stations that describe certain events that took place on Good Friday. These stations are marked by Roman signs.



Location: Jerusalem


Station I- Jesus is condemned by Pontius Pilatus to death.

Station II- Jesus Christ is given his cross to carry to his crucifixion place of Golgotha

Station III- on the corner of modern via Dolorosa and El Wad Street Jesus falls for the first time. The path take a turn here to follow the shape of the Temple Mount

Station IV- Jesus meets Virgin Mary, his mother. Here you can see distinct Roman stones that stand out with its size and rounded corners polished by generations of people who walked these streets

Station V- Simon helps Jesus Christ carry his cross. Tradition goes that this is the site where Jesus fell and left an imprint of his hand on the stone. Here you can find that stone inserted into a wall

Station VI- At this place Saint Veronica comes to an aid of Jesus and wipes sweat off his face.

Station VII- Jesus Christ falls for the second time under a weight of his cross

Station VIII- This is the place where Jesus spoke to a Jerusalem woman. But Jesus turning unto them said, Daughters of Jerusalem, weep not for me, but weep for yourselves, and for your children" (Luke 23)

Station IX- Here Jesus fell for the third time. This is the final station within the walls of the ancient Jerusalem. He left the city through Judgment Gate. It was uncovered in the 19th century during remodeling of the Russian mission that is adjacent to the Holy Sepulcher.

Station X- Roman soldiers undress Jesus before his execution and divide them between the guards. And when they had crucified him, they parted his garments, casting lots upon them, what every man should take" (Mark 15:24)

Station XI- Jesus Christ is nailed to the cross

Station XII- Jesus Christ dies on the cross

Station XIII- Jesus is taken down

Station XIV- Jesus is laid in his tomb