Kyrgyzstan Destinations Travel Guide



Flag of Kyrgyzstan

Language: Kyrkyz, Russian

Currency: Som (KGS)

Calling Code: 996


Travel Destination in Kyrgyzstan

Kyrgyzstan is a mountainous country of Central Asia, without access to the sea and that shares borders with the People's Republic of China, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. Its capital and most populated city is Biskek. Kyrgyzstan's history spans more than two thousand years and covers a wide variety of cultures and empires. Although geographically isolated by its highly mountainous terrain - which has helped the country preserve its ancient culture - Kyrgyzstan has historically been at the crossroads of several great civilizations, as part of the Silk Road and other commercial and cultural routes. Although always inhabited by a succession of independent tribes and clans, Kyrgyzstan has become, periodically, under foreign domination and has attained sovereignty as a nation-state only after the disintegration of the Soviet Union in 1991.



Song kul

Song Kul Lake is a picturesque mountain lake in Naryn Province in Kyrgystan.

Tash Rabat

Tash Rabat is an abandoned medieval monastery constructed by the Christians who came here from Ancient Roman Empire.