Saudi Arabia

Saudi Arabia Destinations Travel Guide

Flag of Saudi Arabia

Language: Arabic

Currency: Saudi Riyal (SAR)

Calling Code: 966


Saudi Arabia or Saudi Arabia, officially called the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, is a sovereign country of Western Asia located in the Arabian peninsula, whose form of government is the absolute monarchy. It borders Jordan to the northwest, to Iraq to the northeast, to Kuwait, the United Arab Emirates, Qatar and the Persian Gulf to the east, to the Red Sea to the west, and to Oman and Yemen to the south, as well as being connected with Bahrain, through the road of King Fahd. The country has a surface area of ​​2 149 690 km2, and had a population of more than 29 million inhabitants in 2012. Its leadership in the global export of oil has made it one of the twenty largest economies on the planet. It is also called "the land of the sacred mosques" in reference to the Great Mosque in Mecca and the Prophet's Mosque in Medina, the two most sacred places in Islam, which are strictly forbidden access to non-Muslims .

The House of Saud saw the first Saudi state, the Emirate of Diriyah, which collapsed in the Ottoman-wahhabi war between 1811 and 1818 and the second Saudi state, the Emirate of Nechd, which lasted between 1824 and 1891. The modern monarchy It was founded by Abdelaziz bin Saud, who initiated his conquests that began the unification in 1902 with the taking of Riyadh, current capital of the country. The modern Saudi state began in 1932 and the government has been an absolute monarchy and a theocracy since its inception, based on an extremist application of the principles of Islam. Today it represents one of the last six absolute monarchies in the world. The Wahhabism religious movement has been called, within Sunnism, "the predominant feature of Saudi culture." The kingdom and its official line adhere fully to Islamic precepts, with one of the most rigorous interpretations of the sharia of the planet.


Travel Destination in Saudi Arabia


Mecca is situated in Saudi Arabia and it is the holiest city for the Muslims. In fact pilgrimage here or hajj is one of the five pillars of Islam.