Ermak Travel Guide

 

The World at your fingertips 

 

 

 

Chateau de Froensbourg

 

Chateau de Froensbourg is a medieval citadel situated near a town of Lembach in the Bas- Rhine department of France. Its unique architectural feature is that part of rooms and halls of this citadel is cut into a cliff of a mountain. Today most of human made walls and towers were eroded away, while underground structures are almost perfectly preserved after centuries of neglect.

 

 

 

Location: Lembach in the Bas- Rhine department   Map

 

 

 

History of Chateau de Froensbourg

 

Chateau de Froensbourg was built in the 13th century by a Froensbourg family. In the middle of the 14th century it was divided between the lords Froensbourg, Lowenstein and Sikingen. After Reinhard von Sikingen became involved in banditry, Chateau de Froensbourg was besieged in 1349. The castle was taken and badly damaged as a revenge. It was shortly thereafter restored in 1358 by its new owner Count Palatine. Castle was captured and destroyed a year later. Emperor Charles IV banned its reconstruction. Only in the late 15th century when it was restored again by the Lords of Fleckenstein around 1481. Chateau de Froensbourg was finally destroyed by the French troops in 1677. Its ruins were abandoned and fell in disrepair, although part of the castle that were cut in the rock survived in great condition. Chateau de Froensbourg was added to the list of historical monuments in 1898.