10 largest cities in France




Mâcon is a French commune, capital of Mâconnais, prefecture of the department of Saône-et-Loire, in the Bourgogne-Franche-Comté region. At the last census (2017), the town had 33,638 inhabitants while its urban area, which covers three departments, brings together 100,400 inhabitants.

It is the sixth largest city in Bourgogne-Franche-Comté behind the regional capital of Dijon, Besançon (seat of the regional council), Belfort, Chalon-sur-Saône, Auxerre and in front of the towns of Nevers and Sens. The population of its urban area is the fastest growing in the new region (+ 8.8% between 1999 and 2012).



Cathédrale Vieux-Saint-Vincent

Saint-Vincent de Mâcon Cathedral, today referred to as Vieux Saint-Vincent, is the original cathedral of Mâcon, dedicated to Vincent of Saragossa. The oldest part of the cathedral is reduced to a single bay, which in fact corresponds to what is usually called the western massif. Two octagonal towers of different height surmount it. The lower parts probably date back to the first half of the 11th century, while the upper areas are Gothic (14th century). A belfry, destroyed during the Revolution, surmounted the south tower while the spire of the north tower was truncated. Between them, above the porch, is a high chapel, vaulted by a transverse cradle, which was called "Sainte-Marie de la Porte" (capella sancte marie in porta ecclesie), chapel which is accessed by a beautiful spiral staircase in the south tower.

In his Description of the Towns and Villages of Mâconnais, Father Courtépée speaks of it in these terms: “The cathedral church, under the invocation of Saint Vincent, is narrow and dark, but its vaults are quite high. The ringing of its bells is considered to be one of the most harmonious in the kingdom. "


Église cathédrale Saint-Vincent
Église Saint-Clément
Église Saint-Pierre
Couvent des Ursulines
Hôtel Senecé


Getting here

By train
1 Mâcon-Ville train station
2 Mâcon-Loché-TGV station

By car
Coming from the north:
via the A6 motorway to exit 28 Mâcon-center. At the roundabout, take the departmental road D672 then the D906 following the direction of Mâcon

Coming from the east:
via the A40 motorway to the interchange between A40 and A406,
for the center of the town, follow the A40 to exit 3 Replonges then, at the 2nd roundabout, turn left on the departmental road D1079
for the south of the town, follow the A406 until exit 2 Mâcon-sud

Coming from the south:
via the A6 motorway:
either up to exit 29 Mâcon-center then, at the 3rd exit, take the D169 departmental road towards Aérodrome,
either until exit 2 Mâcon Saône then, at the 2nd roundabout, turn right on the D906 departmental road

Coming from the west:
via the N113 national road extended by the A406 motorway:
either until the exit C1 Vinzelles then, at the 2nd to the 3rd exit, take the departmental road D169
either until exit 2 Mâcon Saône then, at the 2nd roundabout, turn right on the D906 departmental road