Ermak Travel Guide


The World at your fingertips 




Feel free to leave your comments below. If you want to share your knowledge, additional information or experience in a particular place your input is more than welcome.


Mount Athos

Mount Athos

Mount Athos also known as Holy Mountain is located on the Eastern “leg” of the Chalcidice peninsula in the Northern Greece and harbors 20 Eastern orthodox monasteries. Without a doubt this is the most important pilgrimage site for Eastern Christians in Greece as well as abroad. Mount Athos peninsula is connected to mainland, but only way to get there is by boat.



Contact: The Holy Executive of the Holy

Mount Athos Pilgrims' Bureau


546 22, Thessaloniki, Greece

Tel. +30 2310 252578

Fax +30 2310 222424






Description of Mount Athos

Mount Athos MapBefore you will visit the site you will have to learn some of the rules that apply here. Women and boys under 18 are not allowed to step on the soil of the mountain. Besides you will have to get a permit (diamonitirion) from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Directorate of Churches; No 2, Zalokosta Street, Athens, tel: 3626-894) or from Ministry of Northern Greece (Directorate of Civil Affairs; Diikitiriou Square, Thessalonica, tel. 031/270-092). Another way to get the permit is by contacting offices of Mount Athos at Ouranoupolis. It costs 18 Euros for the Orthodox visitors and 35 Euros for the non- Orthodox. Besides you will need a passport. Then contact the Pilgrims’ Bureau (contact info below) to give them a notice of your arrival. It might be up to six months in advance if you choose to travel in summer, which is why it is probably the worst time to travel there. Besides notifying each monastery where you choose to stay is a must. You can do that by contacting each by phone or fax. You can get both from this site:











Mount Athos has twenty monasteries:

  1. Great Lavra (Μεγίστη Λαύρα Megísti Lávra)
  2. Vatopédi (Βατοπέδι)
  3. Iviron (Ιβήρων)
  4. Chilandariou (Χιλανδαρίου, or Хиландар Hilandar in Serbian)
  5. Dionysiou (Διονυσίου)
  6. Koutloumousiou (Κουτλουμούσι)
  7. Pantokratoros (Παντοκράτορος)
  8. Xiropotamou (Ξηροποτάμου)
  9. Zograf (Ζωγράφου, Зограф Zograf in Bulgarian)
  10. Dochiariou (Δοχειάρι)
  11. Karakalou (Καρακάλλου)
  12. Filotheou (Φιλοθέου)
  13. Simonos Petra (Σίμωνος Πέτρα or Σιμωνόπετρα)
  14. Agiou Pavlou (Αγίου Παύλου)
  15. Stavronikita (Σταυρονικήτα)
  16. Zenofondts (Ξενοφώντος)
  17. Osiou Grigoriou (Οσίου Γρηγορίου)
  18. Esphigmenou (Εσφιγμένου)
  19. Agiou Panteleimonos (Αγίου Παντελεήμονος, or Ρωσικό Rossikon)
  20. Konstamonitou (Κωνσταμονίτου)











blog comments powered by Disqus