Kardamyli or Kardamili, seat of the Municipality of West Mani, is a seaside village, which is 38 km south east of Kalamata. It has been characterized by the Ministry of Culture as a landscape of special natural beauty because it is a remarkable natural landscape with rich vegetation which includes characteristic samples of the evolution of the Mani house and as a historical landscape, due to its importance for the history of architecture and in general for Greek history, because its land, inhabited from prehistoric times to the present day, is rich in monuments of all times and its history is rich in facts. Just a few meters separate the old town from the new one.


The name "Kardamyli" is mentioned for the first time in the years of Homer and is mentioned in the Iliad (I 150) as the first of the "seven favored and well-inhabited cities" that Agamemnon would give a dowry to Achilles if he married one of his daughters. Later it was named "Skardamoula", while in recent years the ancient name prevailed again.

In Kardamyli, refugees took refuge from Mystras, after its destruction in 1460 (who took refuge in caves hence the name Troupakides), while in it Theodoros Kolokotronis together with other Mani chiefs, planned the revolution of 1821.

Below the medieval castle of the 12th century and near the upper Kardamyli, are the Hellenistic chamber tombs "Dioskouron", designated as a Historical Preserved Monument, by decision of the Ministry of Culture. Extremely remarkable is the Fortress complex of Mourtzina - Troupakis, which was donated in 1967 to the Greek State by its owners Maria and Eleni Boukouvalea, heirs of Mourtzina, in order to house a Classical, Byzantine and Folklore Museum. In 1994 it was declared a historic monument. In 2000, the process of granting the ownership, use and management of the complex to the Ministry of Culture began. In the period 1999 - 2004, the restoration of a section that includes the three-storey fortified house and its outbuildings was completed and its conversion into a Museum.

The Ministry of Culture has designated - with its decisions - as Historically Preserved Monuments, the following:
Shift (Observatory) of Demeter, Church of Agios Ioannis, Church of Agios Nikolaos Fort Complex, Holy Monastery of the Transfiguration of the Savior Christ, Church of Agia Sophia, Church of Agios Spyridon, Kamara - Dekoulou, Church of Agios Theodoros, Archiea Theodora (today's parish), Kostopoulou Tower House, Lymperea Tower House, Patriarch Tower House, Founta Tower House, Ancient Acropolis, Petrea Tower House, Cemetery, Church of Agios Nikolaos, Monastery of Agios Nikolaos, Fira.