Ribatejo, Portugal

Ribatejo is a historic province (or natural region) of Portugal, established by the administrative reform of 1936 through the excision of 22 municipalities previously belonging to the province of Estremadura. It persisted until the 1970s, after the country's administrative organization as set out in the 1976 constitution did not include the provinces.



Rio Maior


Other destinations

Serras de Aire e Candeeiros Natural Park
Paul de Boquilobo Nature Reserve


Getting here

By car
On the various motorways that cross the region: A1, A8, A13, A15 and A23.

by bus
By the Tejo road.


Limits and composition

As a province, it included 23 municipalities: 2 from the district of Lisbon, 2 from the district of Setúbal, 1 from the district of Portalegre and the entire district of Santarém (except the municipalities of Mação and Ourém). In 1945, the municipality of Entroncamento was created from areas that until then belonged to the municipalities of Torres Novas and Vila Nova da Barquinha. The region then looks like this:

District of Santarém: Abrantes, Alcanena, Almeirim, Alpiarça, Benavente, Cartaxo, Chamusca, Constância, Coruche, Entroncamento, Ferreira do Zêzere, Golegã, Rio Maior, Salvaterra de Magos, Santarém, Sardoal, Tomar, Torres Novas, Vila Nova da Barquinha .
District of Lisbon: Azambuja, Vila Franca de Xira.
District of Setúbal: Alcochete, Montijo and Moita

Its former territory is currently divided into the regions of Alentejo, Centro and Área Metropolitana de Lisboa, and until 2002 it was the central nucleus of the extinct region of Lisbon and Tagus Valley. In terms of subregions, it is spread across Greater Lisbon (Vila Franca de Xira municipality) and also throughout the entire Lezíria do Tejo sub-region and almost all of the Middle Tagus (except the municipalities of Mação, Ourém).



From a geographical point of view, Ribatejo is divided into three natural regions: Lezíria, Bairro and Charneca.

The Lezíria comprises the floodplain area flooded by the Tagus River and adjacent land, and includes alluvial soils, of excellent quality, in which the vineyard displays all its vigour. In these fertile lands, in addition to vineyards, there are plantations of cereals, melons, tomatoes and excellent pastures for cattle and horses.
The neighborhood appears on the right bank of the Tagus (North of Ribatejo), with a slightly accentuated relief, adjacent and of sandstone, limestone and clay formations whose tones are varied, ranging from whitish to brownish, red and orange. In these clayey soils there are shrubby and tree crops in which the olive tree prevails, which coexists closely with the vine, wheat and corn.
Charneca extends from the left bank of the Tagus River to the Alentejo (South Ribatejo). There are sandy soils, including vast areas of cork oak forests, as well as eucalyptus and pine trees. However, it is also possible to observe, in more favorable places, the cultivation of cereals and vines, as well as rice in the more irrigated areas.
Ribatejo campinos from Lezíria and Charneca wear a white shirt, red vest, blue trousers and cape, white socks and a green cap with a red tassel as formal attire. Ribatejo campinos in the neighborhood wear a white shirt, black vest, black pants and cape, white stockings and black cap as formal attire.