Six Rivers National Forest

Six Rivers National Forest


Location: Northwest California   Map

Area: 957,590 acres

Official site





Six Rivers National Forest is situated in Northwest California in United States. Six Rivers National Forest covers a total area of 957,590 acres. This large expanse of forest is most famous for Patterson-Gimlin film of the Bigfoot. It is still considered as one of the best proofs for existence of this elusive creature.

While some claim that it was a human in a monkey clothes, some optimists claim that the creature in the famous yeti movie is too real and too authentic. The suit if it is one sits on a heavy frame with significant musculature. You can see the muscles constrict and move underneath its fur.


Additionally the creature seems to move an entire body as it turns back to look at the camera. Humans have heads set above its shoulders so we turn our heads without a need to turn an entire body. Large apes on the other hand have massive shoulders that prevent them from turning their heads. Instead they need to swing an entire body to turn the head as it is in this case.


And finally some pointed out that the animal in the video moves like all normal apes as they walk on their back legs. The knees are bent as the creature moves. You can see similar pattern in all great apes.


All these facts combined make it hard to imagine that two cowboys could stage such an elaborate show with such intimate knowledge of big apes.


Six Rivers National Forest is a national forest in the United States located in the northwest of the state of California. Established in 1947 during the presidency of Harry S. Truman, the forest covers a area of more than 4,000 km2. It is home to many different ecosystems. The forest extends over the four counties of Del Norte, Humboldt, Trinity and Siskiyou in the Klamath Mountains. Its name comes from the six major rivers that cross it: the Eel River, the Van Duzen River (tributary of the Eel River), the Klamath River, the Trinity River (tributary of the Klamath River), the Mad River, and the river Smith. The forest has 589 km of rivers, six different botanical zones and relaxation areas for camping, fishing and walking. The headquarters of the rangers is located in the locality of Eureka.