Language: Spanish

Currency: US dollar (USD)

Calling Code: +593


Ecuador, officially called the Republic of Ecuador, is an American country located in South America. It limits to the north with Colombia, to the south and to the east with Peru and to the west with the Pacific Ocean, which separates it from the Galapagos Islands, located at 1000 kilometers, from Puntilla de Santa Elena to San Cristóbal Island. A volcanic section of the Andes mountain range divides the territory from north to south, leaving on its western flank the Gulf of Guayaquil and a wooded plain, and to the east, the Amazon. Ecuador occupies an area of ​​283,561 km², making it the fourth smallest country in the subcontinent, although to give a perspective, its extension is greater than that of the United Kingdom. It is the tenth most populated country in America, with just over 16 million inhabitants, the most densely populated in South America and the fifth in the continent.


Travel Destinations in Ecuador


Cajas National Park

Cajas National Park is small, but picturesque nature reserve that is located in the highlands of Ecuador.

Cayambe Coca Ecological Reserve

Cayambe Coca Ecological Reserve is a nature reserve situated 60 miles Northeast of Quito in Ecuador. It covers a total area of 914,270 acres.

Churute Mangroves Ecological Reserve

Churute Mangroves Ecological Reserve is located in Guayas Province and protects an unique and diverse biosphere of the mangrove forests.

Cotacachi Cayapas

Cotacachi Cayapas Ecological Reserve is a protected mountainous area situated in the Imbabura Province. It covers a total area of 752,235 acres.

Cotopaxi National Park

Cotopaxi National Park protects an area around volcano Cotopaxi, one of the highest active volcanoes in the World.

Cueva de los Tayos

Cueva de los Tayos or 'cave of the oilbirds' is a large underground natural system in the Morona Santiago province in the Andes mountains of Ecuador.

Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve

Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve is a protected area located in Sucumbios Province in Ecuador. The nature reserve covers an area of 6,033.8 sq km.

Galápagos Islands

Galápagos Islands became World famous after Charles Darwin visited this group of islands.

Limoncocha National Biological Reserve

Limoncocha National Biological Reserve is a natural reserve located in Napo Province of Ecuador. This nature reserves covers an area of 13,000 acres.

Llanganates National Park

Llanganates National Park is a large nature reserve in Cotopaxi, Napo, Pastaza, Tungurahua Provinces.

Machalilla National Park

Machalilla National Park is a protected area situated in Manabí Province of Ecuador. It covers a total area of 751 sq km.

Podocarpus National Park

Podocarpus National Park is an area located in Loja and Zamora Chinchipe Provinces in Ecuador. This national park covers an area of 146,280 sq km.

Pululahua Geobotanical Reserve

Pululahua Geobotanical Reserve is located 17 km (10 mi) North from Quito, in Pichincha Province of Ecuador. It covers a total area of 3383 hectares in northwestern part of the Pomasqui Valley.

Yasuní National Park

Yasuní National Park is a protected biosphere located in Napo and Pastaza Provinces in Ecuador. This national park covers an area of 9,820 sq km.