Ethnographic Museum (Split)

Ethnographic Museum (Split)


Description of the Ethnographic Museum of Split

Ethnographic Museum Split, located next to the Peristyle, the central square of the Palace, in a building that in itself has exceptional cultural and historical-architectural importance, and with the presentation of extremely valuable ethnographic collections that show us the former life of Split, islanders and farmers of Zagora, a unique cultural complement during a tourist tour of the city of Split. Namely, what makes this museum unique is the fact that the museum space is located on the site where in the 4th century were the imperial chambers, or the bedrooms of Emperor Diocletian, as the most intimate part of the Palace.


During the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy in 1913, with the approval of Vienna, the Statute of the museum was confirmed, which legally revived the institution. The key person related to the history of the museum is the engineer Kamilo Tončić pl. Sorinjski (1878 - 1961), a native of Zadar, an architect by profession and a great admirer and lover of folk art. Thanks to the tireless and passionate work of engineer Tončić on the collection, preservation and presentation of folk handicrafts, awareness of the importance and care for ethnographic material has grown significantly. In 1906, the Crafts School in Split started operating, and since 1909, ethnographic exhibits have been exhibited in that institution. The director of the school was Kamilo Tončić, and on his initiative and commitment, a systematic purchase and collection of ethnographic material began, which was to serve as a model for students in order to preserve the original folk tradition of creativity. In 1910, folk costumes from the area of ​​Dalmatia were presented in one of the school's premises, and this collection became part of the permanent exhibition. At that time, the name "National Museum", "Provincial Museum of Folk Crafts and Art" and "National Museum of Folk Industry and Folk Art" began to be used for the exhibition space. Kamilo Tončić became the first director of the museum and held that position until 1944. After World War I (1919), the museum was moved to another location in the premises of the Agricultural School near the Archaeological Museum. During the interwar period, the museum gained the status of a regional institution and collected ethnographic material from the entire territory of the then state. For the third time, the museum was moved in 1924 to the building of the Old Town Hall and in these premises is part of until 2004. The museum is still located inside the old town, but at the new address - Behind the vestibule 4.

The museum in general, in accordance with the Law on Museums, collects, preserves and researches civilizational, cultural and natural assets, and performs professional-scientific processing and systematization of content into collections. The museum is obliged to permanently protect the museum material, to keep and preserve the museum documentation, and to supervise and protect valuable sites and localities. The Ethnographic Museum in Split has the task of collecting, preserving and presenting ethnographic material of cultural value and significance.

The museum material consists of ethnographic collections, documentation funds and a library collection.

Providing professional assistance in the field of museum activities, holding lectures, providing professional guidance, providing information services related to activities, organizing exhibitions, publishing professional publications.