Construction of Tsaritsyno Palace began in 1775 on the orders of Catherine the Great.
Originally born in a small German kingdom she became the wife of
Russian tsar Peter III. Subsequently with the help of her lover
and his brothers she deposed him from the
throne and ordered to murder him. From that point on she along
with her favourites ruled the country for quarter of the century.
The architects for this massive project were V. Bazhenov and M.
Kazakov. Their statues stand in front of the main building of
the palace. The whole ensemble is designed in neo- Gothic
architecture with towers, cones, and fake ruins. Central two
palaces are connected by a gallery. Behind them is a Bread
House. Later the architect Kazakov added the Grand Palace and
designed a large park. In the 19th century Tsaritsyno became a
place for mass public festivals. In 1993 the palace in
Tsaritsyno got a status of museum- reserve. It underwent a
massive renovation and today houses the Museum of Decorative and
Arch gallery constructed by Bazhenov in the years 1784- 85
Russian Orthodox Church "Source of Life" was constructed in 1722
on this site by previous owner Dmitry Kantemir. Its design
stands out in a general pseudo- Gothic architecture of the
Tsaritsyno ensemble. Bazhenov did not dare to destroy house of
God even this meant breaking overall layout for tsarina's
Bread House (1784- 85)
The Great Bridge over Ravine also known as Gothic Bridge was
constructed in 1778- 84 by architect Bazhenov.
Grape Gates- one of the unique gates in Tsaritsyno Park
A. Burganov "Minerva"- This statue of Roman
goddess Minerva or
Greek version of Athena stands next to ancient burrows (Kurgan
in Russian) of the Slavic tribe of Vyatichi. Miraculously the
architects kept the burials intact.