Ermak Travel Guide


The World at your fingertips 



Feel free to leave your comments below. If you want to add your knowledge, additional information or experience in a particular place your input is more than welcome.






Location: Styria  Map




Description of Graz

Graz (formerly also Grätz ) is the capital of Styria and with 286,292 inhabitants (as of January 1, 2018) the second largest city in the Republic of Austria. The city is located on both sides of the Mur in the Graz basin. The metropolitan area of Graz with 629,161 inhabitants (2017) for the metropolitan regions of Vienna and Linz , the third largest metropolitan area in Austria. Greater Graz has been Austria's fastest growing metropolitan area in the past ten years.

Foundation of Graz dates back to the Roman Empire. In the 6th century a castle was built here, from which the name Graz derives (Slovenian "gradec" means "small castle"). The City Arms received Graz 1245, 1379 to 1619 it was Habsburg royal seat and resistance during this period several Ottoman attacks. During WWII, Graz was part of Nazi Germany (along with the rest of Austria). At the end of the war, Graz was surrendered to Soviet troops largely intact; the historic old town was not seriously hit during Allied bombing raids on the city. In 2003 Graz was the European Capital of Culture ; In 2015 it became the Reformation city of Europe.

Graz has developed into a university city with a total of almost 60,000 students (as of 2 January 2017). It was chosen as the city of human rights and is the sponsor of the Europa Prize . The old town of Graz and Eggenberg Castle have been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1999 and 2010 respectively. Graz is bishop seat of the Diocese Graz-Seckau. Since March 2011, Graz has been part of the Creative Cities Network as a UNESCO City of Design.


Travel Destinations in Graz

Graz is politically divided into 17 city districts.


I. Inner city
II. St. Leonhard
III. Geidorf
IV. Lend
V. Gries
VI. Jakomini
VII. Liebenau
VIII. St. Peter
IX. Waltendorf
X. Ries
XI. Maria Trost
XII. Andritz
XIII. Gösting
XVI. Eggenberg
XV. Wetzelsdorf
XVI. Straßgang
XVII. Puntigam


The districts are arranged spirally counterclockwise. Starting from the first district in an easterly direction, the spiral winds around the inner city for a quarter of a quarter . The first six core districts have grown historically, the remaining districts, formerly suburbs, were incorporated in 1938 in the course of the formation of Greater Graz . In 1988, Puntigam split from Straßgang.


Cathedral of Saint Agydlus (Graz)

Mausoleum of Ferdinand II (Graz)

Landesmuseum or Universalmuseum Joanneum (Graz)

Neue Galerie (Graz)

Graz Military Defenses