Canada Destinations Travel Guide

Flag of Canada

Language: English, French

Currency: Dollar (CAD)

Calling Code: +1


Description of Canada

Canada is a sovereign country of North America, whose form of government is the federal parliamentary monarchy. Its territory is organized in ten provinces and three territories. Its capital is the city of Ottawa and the most populated city is Toronto. Located at the northern end of the North American subcontinent, it extends from the Atlantic Ocean to the east, the Pacific Ocean to the west, and northward to the Arctic Ocean. It shares border with the United States to the south, and to the northwest with its federated state Alaska. It is the second largest country in the world after Russia, and also the northernmost. It occupies about half of the territory of North America.

The territory occupied by Canada was inhabited by various groups of its aboriginal population for millennia. Since the end of the 15th century, numerous British and French expeditions explored along the Atlantic coast, where they later settled. France ceded almost all of its North American colonies in 1763 after the Franco-Indian War.

In 1867, with the union of three British North American colonies through the Confederation, Canada was formed as a federal domain of four provinces, which led to an accumulation of provinces and territories, and a process of autonomy from the United Kingdom. This growing autonomy was highlighted in the Westminster Statute of 1931 and culminated in the 1982 Constitution Act of Canada, which broke the vestiges of legal dependence in the British parliament, governed as a parliamentary democracy and monarchy. constitutional with Isabel II as head of state. It is a bilingual nation with English and French as official languages ​​at the federal level.

Canada is an industrial and technologically pioneering and advanced nation, largely self-sufficient in energy thanks to its relatively large deposits of fossil fuels and the extensive generation of nuclear energy and hydroelectric energy. Being one of the most developed countries, it has a diversified economy, which makes it independent for its large deposits and abundant natural resources as well as for trade, particularly with the United States and Mexico. He is currently a member of the OAS, the G-8, the G-20, NATO, the OECD, the WTO, the UKUSA, APEC, the Commonwealth of Nations, La Francophonie and the United Nations Organization. It is considered one of the countries with the best quality of life.


Travel Destination in Canada


Alberta (Canada)

Banff National Park

Banff National Park is situated 110 kilometers (70 mi) West of Calgary in the Alberta province of Canada. It protects 2,580 sq. mi (6,680 sq. km) of picturesque mountains and lakes in Alberta province.

Jasper National Park

Jasper National Park is located in Alberta territory of Canada. This national reserve covers an area of 10,878 sq km (4,200 sq mi).

Waterton Lakes National Park

Waterton Lakes National Park is located in Alberta province in Canada. This natural reserve covers an area of 505 km².



British Columbia (Canada)

Barkerville Ghost Town

Barkerville Ghost Town is situated in a province of British Columbia in Canada. It was originally found in 1862.

Kootenay National Park

Kootenay National Park covers an area of British Columbia in Western Canada. National park covers an area of 1,406 sq km.



Northwest Territories (Canada)

Nahanni National Park

Nahanni National Park is situated in Northwest Territories of Canada. This national park covers an area of 30,000 sq km.



Newfoundland and Lablador (Canada)

Gros Morne National Park

Gros Morne National Park was designed an UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1987 for its beautiful views, diverse ecosystem and unique biosphere.

Torngat Mountains National Park

Torngat Mountains National Park is one of the newest addition to Labrador and Newfoundland province of Canada. It covers 9,600 km2 (3,707 sq mi) of pristine lakes, mountains and glaciers.



Nunavut (Canada)

Quttinirpaaq National Park

Quttinirpaaq National Park in Nunavut province of Canada is famous for its spectacular glaciers and rich biosphere.

Sirmilik National Park

Sirmilik National Park is located in Nunavut province in Canada. This national park covers an area of 22,200 sq km (8,571 sq mi).



Saskatchewan (Canada)

Prince Albert National Park

Prince Albert National Park is located in Saskatchewan province in Canada. The national park covers an area of 1496 sq mi.



Yukon (Canada)

Ivvavik National Park

Ivvavik National Park Yukon province of Canada is isolated stretch of wilderness rich with wild life.

Kluane National Park

Kluane National Park in Yukon province of Canada has one of the largest and diverse biospheres in the country.




Canada recognizes and celebrates the following national holidays (some provinces may have minor differences):

New Year's Day — 1 January
Family Day — 3rd Monday in February (not observed in all provinces, known as Louis Riel Day in Manitoba, Islander Day in PEI)
Good Friday — Friday before Easter (a few institutions also close on Easter Monday)
Easter Sunday — late March or early April, first Sunday after first full moon after the spring equinox
Victoria Day—Last Monday in May before 25 May (known as Fêtes des Patriotes in Québec; always one week before the US Memorial Day)
St. Jean Baptiste Day (Québec) — 24 June (also known as Fête Nationale)
Canada Day— 1 July
Civic Holiday — first Monday in August (only applies in some provinces, under different names; not in Québec)
Labour Day — first Monday in September
Thanksgiving—Second Monday in October (the same day as the US holiday of Columbus Day)
Remembrance Day —11 November (bank holiday only; the same day as the US Veterans Day)
Christmas Day — 25 December
Boxing Day—26 December
Canada's Labour Day is not celebrated on 1 May, as in much of the world, but on the first Monday in September (the same day as the US celebrates its Labor Day).