Ermak Travel Guide

 

The World at your fingertips 

 

Give me an incentive to work on this project by sharing this link on your social media, forums and other websites.

 

You can also donate to help my project. Thank you

 

 

Most interesting facts

 

Chronology of the Death of Pompeii

 

Roman House and Street

 

The cost of living and life in the Roman Empire

 

Pompeii for kids

 

Pompeii or Pompei

Помпеи

 

 

 

 

 

 

Travel Tips

Tickets

How to get to Pompeii

Restaurants

Hotels

Security

 

 

Location: Pompeii, Campania   Map

Destroyed: August 24th, 79 AD (LXXIX AD)
Open: 8:30am- 7:30pm Apr- Oct
8:30am- 5pm Nov- March
Closed: Jan 1, May 1, Dec 25
Tel. 081 857 5347
Entrance Fee: €11 adult; €5.50 EU citizens
 
Pompeii is an ancient archeological site situated South- East of modern day Naples, Campania region in Italy. It is one of most famous Roman cities largely due to its destruction then volcano Vesuvius erupted and buried it under 20 meters (70 feet) of ash and pumice thus preserving as it existed on August 24th 79 AD. Unlike many other ancient cities it was not resettled or covered over by later structures and most of the city escaped looting after its accidental discovery in 1748.

Travel Tips
You might want to take sunscreen, water and some food as you go and explore the city. It is large and deserves a whole day to explore. Keep in mind that the weather in summer months in Italy are very hot. Keep well hydrated and cover your head if you can. The only way to travel around this extensive site is my foot or my getting a bike. Either way its can be challenging at times to cover an archaeological site that covers over 163 acres of land.

 

 

 

Pompeii Italy Travel Destinations

Pompeii by regions (regio)

Pompeii regions

 Early archeologists divided Pompeii archeological site into regions or regio in Italian. These groups of buildings are divided by the largest streets of Pompeii. Each part of the city has its own unique set of buildings. It is hard to visit the whole site in one day so it can be handy to plan your visit by visiting regions of the city.

 

Pompeii Forum (Regio VII)

The Forum of Pompeii was originally the central open space in the settlement. The city spread and grew in size. By the time of the eruption it was located in the South- West corner of the settlement. It measured 157 meters by 38 meters. It was lined by commercial, public and religious buildings important in the daily lives of common Roman citizens. The central plaza was lined by two rows of colonnade. The bottom row consisted of Doric columns, while the top row was lined by Ionic columns. Additionally there were several statues that graced this important part of the city. Unfortunately many of them were destroyed by an earlier earthquake of 62 AD and were never rebuild. The only thing that reminds of their former existence are pedestals that were left abandoned. Two main entrances were located at the north of the plaza with two triumphal arches. The bigger eastern arch was dedicated to Germanicus, step son of emperor Tiberius who made his name by defeating Germanic tribes in 12AD just few years after these tribes under leadership of Arminius dealt a humiliating blow to the Roman Empire by exterminating three Roman legions under leadership of Publius Quinctilius Varus in Teutoburg Forest.

 

More On Ancient Pompeii Forum

 

 

 

 

 

Regio I (Pompeii)


Regio I (Pompeii)Regio I in Pompeii consists of several buildings and occupies a southeastern position in the city. Most of this quarter has been dug up and explored by archaeologists. However, only 8 buildings on street Via del 'Abbondanza are open to tourists.

Among the most interesting finds here is a group of corpses, which belong to several families in the Garden of Fugitives. The first body belonged to a servant of a peasant family. On his shoulders, he carried a bag of provisions. He was followed by the peasant family itself. The second was the family with their skinny daughter. Judging by the state of the bones, they too were peasants. The last group was the family of a wealthy merchant. Their bones speak of a healthy diet for the ancient Roman Empire. The head of the family carried a lot of coins. Apparently the family was prepared to leave Pompeii for good. They all died trying to escape from the city, but did not make it on time. A pyroclastic wave caught up with them at the very gates of the city of Pompeii in the so-called Garden of Fugitives.

House of Citharist - one of the most luxurious residences in Pompeii. The quality of frescoes and interior decoration speaks of a wealthy family. The house was named after the statue of Apollo Citharist, found in the lower peristyle, the inner garden. Today a copy stand on its place, and the original is kept in the National Archaeological Museum of Naples.

The archaeologist Della Corte believed that the owner of Menander’s house was Quintus Popius Sabin because of the inscription in the hallway of the house where a certain “Quintus” was mentioned. Other graffiti in the house with reference to Sabina. Menander’s house may have belonged to a local magistrate. Warm Mediterranean climate of Pompeii attracted many Romans who invested in country villas around the city. It is possible that the owner during the eruption of Vesuvius in 79 AD was a rich tourist, not a local resident. About a dozen bodies were found in the House of Menander. Judging by the fact that pickaxes and shovels were found in many bodies, these citizens were not engaged in working in the fields. Most likely these were poor citizens who tried to find the treasures of wealthy citizens after they left their mansions.

 

 

Garden of Fugitives (Insula 21)

 

Insula 2 (Pompeii)

House with Etruscan Column (Entrance 3) - It is so called because in the vestibule it has an Etruscan column, probably taken from some other structure, it was excavated in 1872: following the bombing of 1943 the atrium and three cubicles that contained different paintings like that of Polyphemus and Agatea were destroyed. Arianna abandoned by Theseus and several medallions framed in garlands of leaves.

House of the Actors (6) - Also called Casa dei Mimi, it was explored in 1872 and slightly damaged by a bombing in 1943: inside it were found several well-preserved frescoes, later detached and taken to the National Archaeological Museum of Naples, such as the Rat of Palladio as well as a bronze sistrum, found in the peristyle.

House of L. and M. Volusii Fausti (10) - It was excavated in 1873: originally it had two floors, of which only the staircase remains and has an impluvium decorated in the center with a half column that served as a fountain; inside, as well as decorations like a Venus made of opus sectile, there are also numerous finds including a statue of Fortune, found in the triclinium and bronze vases, jugs and pots.

Tetrastyle Hall House (28) - Also called Casa della Grata Metallica, it has the peculiarity of having kept the area of ​​the impluvium almost intact, with the characteristic that the area of ​​the compluvium was closed by an iron grate to prevent thieves from accessing the house from above; inside, some plaster remains are scattered among the various rooms: among the best-preserved frescoes is that of Cassandra which foresees the fall of Troy.

 

Insula 3 (Pompeii)

House of Epidius Fortunatus (3) - It was excavated in 1860 and is so called because on an amphora, which contained honey, the name of Epidius Fortunatus was found; in addition to traces of stucco, there are also remains of the ancient pavement, especially in the tablinum, made of marble. The kitchen area with fireplace and sink is well preserved.
House without a name and Vulcan's house (8) - It was excavated in 1869, has a well-preserved peristyle with some columns surmounted by arches, while in some rooms, as in cubicles or in the triclinium, traces of red and gray colored plaster can still be seen; a statue of Venus in a niche and a bronze statue of Fortune was also found.
House of Anicetus (23) - It was explored in 1868 and presented several electoral inscriptions near the entrance: inside it was also found a fresco, preserved in the archaeological museum of Naples, depicting the struggle between Pompeians and Nocerini inside the amphitheater.
Capella's house (24) - On either side of the entrance there were two frescoes depicting Mercury and Hercules, of which however no trace remains, as happened for the lararium, of which only a description remains, where a Genius with a cornucopia on his shoulders was present, while pouring libations on an altar, to its right, was a panther and in the lower part a red and yellow snake.
House of the Warriors (25) - It was excavated in 1869: on the pillars of the peristyle, being restored during the eruption of 79 , there were some frescoes such as Isis with a cornucopia and a naked female figure holding a laurel wreath ; well preserved is the wall decoration instead of ' oecus depicting the dispute on the beauty of Aphrodite and Eosforo with Apollo as a judge: the whole scene is framed with stucco in plaster.

Innulus House (29) - It was excavated in 1869, it was on two levels, as shown by the remains of a staircase and in its interior there are few traces of wall decorations; characteristic was, along the perimeter wall that overlooked Via del Citarista, the representation of the tutelary deity of the road, that is, a snake with a black crest wrapped around a tree, completely lost.

 

Insula 4 (Pompeii)

The House of the Citharist (25)

House of Terracotta Pressor (22) - It was explored between 1858 and 1862, consists of eleven rooms with a large atrium with puteal and a table both in marble and has no particular decoration, since it is thought that at the time of the eruption it was under renovation; part of the walls of the house collapsed due to the Irpinia earthquake of 1980.
House of Q. Octavius ​​Romulus (28) - It was investigated in 1853 and has the peculiarity of having an area dedicated to housing a stable: one can still note the stone water trough and a dormitory for employees; the rest of the house develops around the atrium.

 

Insula 5 (Pompeii)

House of the Etruscan Capitals (1) - It was excavated between 1873 and 1874 and heavily damaged in the night between 14 and 15 September 1943 by a bomb that destroyed part of the entrance, then restored; inside it does not present particular elements of relief.

 

Insula 6 (Pompeii)

House of the Cryptoporticus (2)

House of the Lararium (4)

Laundry of Stephanus (7)

House of the Ceii (15)

House of P. Casca Longus. Casa dei Quadretti Teatrali (11) - Also called Casa di Casca Longus has the atrium completely restored, with impluvium covered in colored marble and compluvium with finely decorated rainwater collection nozzles; in the same room is also a marble table base decorated with a lion's head and legs. The frescoes in the house are largely in the third style and are characteristic of those in the atrium depicting theatrical scenes.
House of Stallius Eros (13) - It was excavated between 1926 and 1927: it shows the typical pattern of Roman houses with atrium, garden, where the remains of a lararium can be seen, interspersed with a tablinum; the remains of the pictorial decorations of the house are in the fourth style and inside there were found some weights in white limestone and black basalt.

 

Insula 7 (Pompeii)

House of Paquius Proculus (1)

House of the Fabius Amandus (3)

House of the Priest Amandus (7)

House of the Ephebus (11)

Casa di Filippo (5) - It has been explored several times as in 1868, 1912 and 1923 and it is still in doubt whether it was really a house or a large shop : the entire structure is small, the entrance directly faces the atrium and the left side is the tablinum with remains of decorations in red and floor mosaics.

 

Insula 8 (Pompeii)

Thermopolium of Vetutius Placidus (8)

House of the Four Styles (17)

Stephanus house (2) - It was excavated between 1912 and 1926 and severely damaged by the bombing of 1943 : this event led to the collapse of all the columns of the peristyle; it is a not very big house, with an atrium, a garden with peristyle and four rooms, in two of which fourth-style pictorial decorations have been found.
House of the Indian Statuette (5) - It is so called because, during the exploration, an ivory statue was found in a wooden box, today preserved in the National Archaeological Museum of Naples, depicting Lakshmi ; the house has the classic scheme of Roman dwellings, with still a few walls plastered in red: in addition to the statue, a couple of rigged dice were also found.

House of Epidius Primus (14) - It was explored between 1938 and 1943 : several electoral inscriptions were found on its facade, while inside it consists of ten rooms, with remnants of wall decorations, except in one where most of the frescoes have been preserved almost entirely; in a wooden box, several silverware items were also found, such as pots and double-handle cups, as well as some bronze medical instruments.
House of a Doric Atrium (18) - Also called House of Balbo/ Casa di Balbo it was excavated in 1937 : it has an atrium with the remains of impluvium, eight rooms with frescoes mostly in the third style and some in first style and the remains of the staircase that led to the upper floor; at the time of the excavation, in the kitchen, the still intact lararium was found, frescoed around with deities and snakes.

 

Insula 9 (Pompeii)

House of the Beautiful Impluvium (1)

House of Ceres (13)

House of the Orchard

Successus house (3) - It is so called because in the fresco boy with hands of ducks, found in a room near the lobby, it was reported the written Successus: Painting remnants remain scattered around the house and well preserved is the garden, which at the time of excavation had a lost white panel and a niche with floral elements; in the same environment the statue of a child with a dove was found.
House of Floral Cubicles (5) - Also called Casa del Frutteto it was being renovated at the time of the eruption and probably owned by a vintner, it has a structure centered around the atrium: the style is typical of the Egyptian culture, as there are frescoes by Apis, Isiatian vases and snakes; it has two cubicles frescoed with trees full of lemons, oranges and limes and a triclinium with three large frescoes depicting Icarus, Actaeon and a battle between warriors.
House of Amarantus (12) - In addition to a small house, it was also used as a caupona : the structure has no particular decorative elements, since, at the time of the eruption, most of the walls were plastered with white; however in the triclinium traces of frescoes with different decorations are visible: at the time of the excavation, a large number of amphorae and the bones of a mule and a dog were found in the atrium.

 

Insula 10 (Pompeii)

House of Menander (4)

House of the Lovers (11)

House of the Cabinet Maker

Casa del Fabbro (7) - It was dug several times between 1914 and 1933 : once past the entrance, one enters the atrium where a marble table is preserved with legs decorated like legs; the house has eight rooms in which it is possible to observe along the walls remains of plaster, while in the kitchen the hearth is well maintained: the remains of two victims of the eruption were also found.
House of Minucius (8) - It was explored in 1929 and in 1934: the remains of the impluvium can be seen, while in different rooms there are traces of paintings in the fourth style; characteristic of the niche in the garden with a white background, on which a tree was painted.
House of Aufidius Primus (18) - It was explored in 1932 and presented several electoral inscriptions on the main façade: the upper floor was partially rebuilt with the restoration; around the atrium there are no rooms, while among the small decorations found, the most interesting is a fresco of the kitchen depicting a Genius, a snake, several kitchen items, a pig's head, and a spit eel.

 

Insula 11 (Pompeii)

House of Venus in a Bikini (6)

House of the First Floor

House of Lucius Habonius Primus (5) - It was initially excavated in 1913 and then again in 1960 and is so called because inside the atrium a seal was found that carried this name: the house has an irregular plan, very few pictorial decorations found, while the main finds recovered I am a bottle of glass containing oil and several bowls silver.
House of Euxinus (12) - It was excavated from 1953 to 1964 : it has an irregular layout, remains of frescoes in the fourth style and a small garden, in which, along a wall, a niche opens up, inside which a marble statue of Venus was found, while in other nearby niches several faces carved in marble were found.
House of Cherem (14) - It was excavated in 1960 : presents the remains of an impluvium , a oecus where there are frescoes in the second style, with squares depicting masks of tragedy, birds, and garlands; in the garden you can see the bases of four columns, the remains of a small peristyle and a staircase that led to the upper floor.
Upper Floor House (15) - It is so named because it is also possible to access a room on the second floor: the entire house has an irregular layout and has almost completely preserved its pictorial decorations, such as those in a room near the garden and a cubicle, in addition to a painted lararium, in which two serpents are noted; a staircase leads to part of the upper floor, where in the two recovered rooms there are frescoes in the fourth style.
House of Saturninus (16) - It was partly used as a hospitium, as shown by a masonry counter, present in an entrance area: the main surviving decorations are inside the triclinium, with frescoes in the fourth style, with a plinth in black similar to the opus reticolatum and tables in masonry with an oval and square shape.
Imperial House (17) - It was excavated between 1954 and 1960, has an irregular plan, with an atrium without impluvium and a few wall decorations: the surviving ones are in fact preserved in the east area of ​​the atrium and in the triclinium, which also appears to be the only reconstructed environments.

 

Insula 12 (Pompeii)

Bakery of Sotericus (2)

Garum Workshop (8)

House of Medusa (15) - It has an area of ​​about three hundred and fifty square meters and was probably excavated in 1962 : its name derives from the fact that a well-preserved lararium was found in a room, with the head of Medusa at the center of the niche and two deer at its sides; the house has an irregular layout and in the northern part has a large garden that was used as a vegetable garden.
House of the Painted Labrum (16) - It was explored in 1952 and is a modestly sized dwelling: of irregular layout, composed of seven rooms, it has pictorial residues in the atrium and in a cubicle, especially in the classic Pompeian red, while in the garden there is the lararium, in part still decorated and a large labrum painted on the wall.

 

Insula 13 (Pompeii)

House of the Tiberii-Crassi (1) - It was excavated in 1914 and then from 1951 to 1953 : it featured two lost electoral inscriptions on the facade, while inside there is a garden with a three-column peristyle; in the house two bronze candlesticks were found, with the feet decorated one with a lion's foot, the other with leaves.
House of Sutoria Primigenia (2) - Also called Casa del Grande Triclinio it was initially excavated in 1914 and later in 1953: of particular importance is the outdoor summer triclinium, with a masonry table and a small room on the east side that probably served as a sacellum ; characteristic of a painting present in the kitchen, near the lararium, which represents the matron of the house intent on making sacrifices with her entire family.
House of Taedia Secunda (4) - It was explored in 1915 and 1919: it has a narrow entrance and several rooms, while the remains of pictorial decorations are scarce.
House of Lesbianus and Numicia Primigenia (9) - It is presented on two levels: on the facade, several graffiti and a fresco depicting Venus on a boat have been found; inside the house, there are pictorial decorations with red skirting and a median area in yellow.
House with Larario Isiaco (12) - It has an atrium with impluvium but the triclinium is absent: in the same environment there is a niche lararium, painted inside in white and with a tympanum decorated with mosaic- like paintings ; in various cubicles there are traces of plaster in red.

 

Insula 14 (Pompeii)

Casa del Larario Sarno (7) - It was excavated in 1954 : passing the entrance and the small atrium, through a narrow corridor, where the kitchen with a latrine also opens, you reach the garden that preserves the main attraction of the house, that is a well preserved lararium, painted in red, with the figure of the Genius in the niche and at the base the god of the river Sarno who pours water and watches over the port.

 

Insula 15 (Pompeii)

House of the Ship Europa (3)

 

Insula 16 (Pompeii)

House of Cylindrical Columns (2) - It was explored in 1955 and in 1974 when it was also partially restored: after the narrow entrance one enters the garden directly where there is a psudoperistilio with well-preserved columns; around the house there are the rooms of the house such as kitchen and triclinium, in which there are no traces of decorations, while one of the main objects found inside is a bronze statue of Bacchus.
House of Petronia (5) - It was excavated in 1958: inside there are some frescoes, partly only the black plinth, in others the central area; in addition to the peristyle, the house also had a large garden.

 

Insula 17 (Pompeii)

Casa degli Archi (4) - It was excavated in 1954 and partly rebuilt: this made it possible to make the upper floor and above all the peristyle accessible with the columns joined together by means of arches, with some of these still having pictorial decorations; other frescoes are present in different environments, but most of the peristyle where you successfully maintained lararium: among the most important archeological finds stands a pickaxe in iron.

 

Insula 19 (Pompeii)

House of L. Satrius Rufus (3) - It was partially explored between 1932 and 1934 and only the remains of the entrance are visible: inside it was found a bronze plaque bearing the name of Lucius Satrius Rufus, an imperial secretary.
Earinus house (4) - It was partly excavated in 1932 and only the part of the entrance can be seen: along the façade various electoral inscriptions were found, including one showing that a certain Earinus was lived there.
House of Minio Carpo (5) - It is only partially excavated and only the main façade is visible: two graffiti were found near the pillars of the entrance door, both repeating the name Minio Carpo.

 

Insula 22 (Pompeii)

Stabianus House (2) - It was explored several times between 1955 and 1974 and has the peculiarity of having a large garden, probably used as an orchard with a triclinium with a table decorated with polychrome marbles: according to some scholars the garden could be cultivated with vines, while according to others planted about three hundred fruit trees, as evidenced by the discovery of some large branches.

 

 

Regio II (Pompeii)

 

Regio II (Pompeii)Regio II is located in the eastern part of the city of Pompeii. This part of the city was built up under Roman rule. Apparently before, there were shacks for the poor since this corner is farthest from the forum of Pompeii and hardly played an important role in the history of the city. However, because low cost authorities decided to demolish the old buildings and erect new public buildings. They ordered the construction of several large public buildings. This is the second most visited district in Pompeii. Firstly, one of the entrances is located here, and secondly there are several large buildings that are perfectly preserved.

In particular, there is the Amphitheater and Palestra. The inhabitants of Pompeii loved their Amphitheater, although it is impossible to call them organized or peaceful. On the seats, the battles unfolded more badly than those in the arena. Because of the boorish behavior of gladiator-fighting fans, the authorities of the Roman Empire even banned for the time being the bloody games of Pompeii. Palestra was a big stadium, a kind of fitness club of the time. It also housed public toilets for visitors of the Pompeii Amphitheater.

Pompeii Amphitheater (Insula 6)

The Amphitheatre of Pompeii is situated South of the Via dell' Abbondanza in an Eastern corner of the city near the Sarno Gate entrance. It measures 104 by 135 meters in width and length and was completed around 80 BC. Construction of this site was commissioned by two city magistrates M. Porcius and C. Quintus Valgus. The site was chosen since this part of the town had no structures and no older blocks had to be torn down to make way for a new construction. The arena was dug 6 meters (20 feet) below earth level and earthworks supported the thousands of seats for spectators. After Pompeii was struck by an earthquake in 62 AD it was reconstruction using money of Caius Cuspius Panse and his son Caius Cuspius Panse. Their statues once stood here.

 

Insula 1 (Pompeii)

Casa degli Aemilii, Primio and Saturninus (2) - It was excavated in 1915 and then in 1985: it owes its name to various electoral inscriptions found on its facade, which referred to characters from the Aemili family; inside were also found some objects used for the production of cosmetic products.
Imperial House (10) - Excavated between 1953 and 1955 and again in 1985, it presents, past the entrance, a small courtyard that looks directly onto the garden, as well as for the fenestrated triclinium; in three small rooms, there are remains of the Pompeian red plaster.
Complex of Magic Rites (12) - Also called the House of the Pompeian Sibyl was explored in various stages between 1954 and 1985 : one of the most important findings were a pair of bronzed hands, belonging to the god Sabazio, who had the task of removing the evil eye ; paintings depicting Mercury and Bacchus and Venus and Priapus were also found in the house while the exedra was used for banquets and votive and magical rites.

 

Insula 2 (Pompeii)

House of Octavius Quartio (2)

House of the Augustals (4) - Also known as the House of Messium Ampliatus, it was excavated between 1916 and 1921 and faces directly onto Via dell'Abbondanza: in addition to two electoral inscriptions on the facade, the entrance portal is characterized on the upper part by a coat of arms of the Augustan age, that is, a crown woven with branches of oak and laurel; the interior of the house is seriously damaged as a result of previous explorations.

 

Insula 3 (Pompeii)

House of Venus in the Shell (3)

 

Insula 4 (Pompeii)

House of Julia Felix (3)

 

Insula 7 (Pompeii)

Palaestra of Pompeii (1)

 

Insula 8 (Pompeii)

The House of the Garden Hercules (6)

 

Insula 9 (Pompeii)

House of Quietus (1) - It was explored in various stages in 1954, 1971 and 1987 and restored in 1988 : on the front door it featured a depiction of Mercury, while inside an impluvium with a cistern and several rooms that still retain traces of frescoes including some, almost life-size, on the columns of the triclinium, which depict Priapus, Bacchus and other subjects like birds.
House of Jeweler (2) - So called because in its interior numerous precious stones were found, it still has traces of plaster, especially in the triclinium, where different human figures and plants can be found: this environment opens directly into the garden, which in turn has a stone table.
House of Lararium Fiorito (4)- It was explored in the fifties and restored in 1988 : many of the wall decorations have been preserved inside, especially in the room where there is a lararium decorated with representations of flowers and cupids; on the walls of the other rooms, plastered in ocher yellow, there are small pictures depicting mythological and animal characters. A marble statue of Venus was also found.
House of the Summer Triclinium (5) - It has the characteristic of having also the upper floor, of which the balcony on the facade at the entrance has been reconstructed; inside, in the garden, a small domestic sanctuary had been built, covering an earlier painting depicting Venus, of which only a part remains.

 

 

Regio III (Pompeii)

Regio III occupies the northeast sector in Pompeii. From the south, it is bordered by Via delle Abbondanza, and from the north by street Via di Nola. Regio III remains largely unexplored region of the city. Insula 2 and 4 contain buildings that are of particular interest and are discussed in more detail here. The remaining quarters of the district are built up with a combination of commercial and private buildings.

 

Insula 1 (Pompeii)

Pacuvius House (3) - It is an almost completely underground house, of which only the entrance is visible: on the left pillar is an inscription clearly referring to Pacuvio, while on the lost plaster was depicted a red anchor, probably in reference to the activity of the owner, a maritime merchant.
House with tavern of Predicius Cornelius (6) - Probably used also as a workshop, it is almost entirely buried: partly damaged by a bomb dropped during the Second World War, it is so named for a graffiti found on the right entrance pillar.

 

Insula 2 (Pompeii)

House of the Trebius Valens (1)

 

Insula 3 (Pompeii)

Schola Armaturarum (6) - Built in the last period of life of the city, it was a building used as a gym for gladiators: it had particular decorations in military style; the entire building collapsed on 6 November 2010.

 

Insula 4 (Pompeii)

House of the Moralist (3)

House of the Pinarius Cerialis (B) - It was owned by a gemmarius, that is to say, a carver of stones and gems: in fact, one hundred and sixteen were found inside gems, vitreous pastilles, and cameos. The paintings in a cubicle depicting theater scenes are well made.

 

Insula 5 (Pompeii)

Casa di Loreio (2) - It was partially excavated between 1917 and 1919: only the façade is visible, with an entrance centered between two columns and a small window on the left; along the entire facade you can see what is probably the base of a balcony.

 

Insula 6 (Pompeii)

House of M. Satrius (2) - It was only partially excavated in 1935 and slightly ruined by a bomb dropped during the second war: this caused the loss of an epigraph. In the house, there are traces of plaster and a covered graffiti praised to Nero.

 

Insula 7 (Pompeii)

House of Popidius Metellicus (1) - It was excavated in 1936 and again buried: only the remains of the perimeter walls and the entrance can be observed.

 

Insula 8 (Pompeii)

House of Vescinus (2) - It was explored between 1843 and 1845 and then again in 1905, to be later buried: note the entrance, made with large blocks and part of the facade on which it was probably an electoral sign.
House of Lucius and Animula (4) - Also called Casa di Perseo Bambino was excavated between 1838 and 1905 and is only partially visible: on the façade several frescoes have been found such as three naked satyrs, a man who gathers wine and another that carries grapes, as well as several electoral inscriptions.
House of Faustinus (6) - It was a house- shop searched in 1844: only a part of it was excavated with very few stucco residues; on its facade there were probably electoral inscriptions.
Pelorus house (7) - Explored in 1884 and then between 1903 and 1905, it is partly still underground: note the entrance that led to the atrium and a small window on the facade, where there was also electoral writing.

 

 

Regio IV (Pompeii)

This region occupies the northeast corner of Pompeii. Most are still underground.

 

Insula 2 (Pompeii)

House of Colored Pillars (B) - It was excavated between 1841 and 1843: Following was again covered and it is visible only part of the facade main: in its interior were found one human skeleton and a lamp in terracotta shaped mask of tragedy; also characteristic two cubicles near the entrance finely decorated.
House of Wine Producer (D) - It was explored in the three-year period 1841 - 1843 and again buried: only the external perimeter wall, where the main entrance was probably located, remains visible; it is also so-called because inside it was found a fresco depicting three satyrs intent on crushing grapes in a wine press.

 

Insula 5 (Pompeii)

House of Mercury (B) - Also called Casa di Ercole, it was excavated between 1813 and 1814 and again buried: only part of a perimeter wall remains visible, where it is difficult to identify the main entrance, which could be confused with the windows, while among the main finds found inside, some frescoes painted on the columns of the lararium depicting Hercules, Bacchus, Eros, Mercury and Venus.

 

 

Regio V (Pompeii)

Regio V occupies the north-eastern sector of Pompeii and is bordered in the south by street Via di Nola and in the west by Via Stabiana. Regio V remains largely unexcavated. Insuls 1, 2, 4, 5, and 7 contain buildings that should be considered in more detail. Most of the buildings of private and commercial nature.

 

Insula 1 (Pompeii)

House of the Bronze Bull (7)

House of the Epigrams (18)

House of L. Caecilius Jucundus (26)

House of Faustus (23) - It was heavily damaged by a bombing during the Second World War which destroyed the entrance corridor and three rooms: in the atrium there are remains of the impluvium, while several wall decorations are preserved in the triclinium and tablinum, as well as in the kitchen where a lararium was found next to the hearth, then lost.
House of M. Tofelanus Valens (28) - It is a small house of less than one hundred square meters, consisting of five rooms: there are remains of wall decorations, especially the lararium, made with a ' kiosk in stucco and parts painted in red and white where were designed plants green, while inside you can see the holes where the statuettes were placed.

 

Insula 2 (Pompeii)

House of the Silver Wedding (THE)

Queen Margaret House (1) - It was excavated in 1883 and later damaged by a bombing in 1943 which led to the loss of some frescoes: however in some rooms and in the triclinium pictorial decorations were preserved in the fourth style such as the rage of Licurgo, Arianna abandoned by Theseus and Narcissus among nymphs and cupids.
House of Bacchus (4) - Also called Casa del Triclinio it was explored in 1883 and presents the classic layout of Roman houses: inside there are paintings in the third style, especially in the garden, with a well-preserved peristyle and in the triclinium; instead the lararium that was found near the entrance with the representation of Jupiter was lost .
House of Paccia (10) - The building has numerous frescoes, some of which have been lost, such as those present in a sort of triclinium, depicting the myth of Daedalus and Pasiphae, while others are preserved on site and are mostly the skirting of wall panels and others have finally been detached and kept at the National Archaeological Museum of Naples as Marcia, Minerva, and the Muses or Marcia that his flute.
Casa di Giove (15) - The entrance walls were in travertine with yellow and purple paint, while the atrium, with no side rooms, bears the remains of an impluvium in the center : it then follows the garden with peristyle and a small lararium and a room used as a triclinium; several frescoes have been found as the Universal Judgment of Paris.
Muse House (F) - It was excavated in 1891 and featured several electoral inscriptions on the main façade: the atrium has no impluvium, the kitchen had a white plaster with red spots and a small lararium while a terracotta dolium and several amphorae were found in the courtyard.
House of N. Fufidius Successus (G) - It was explored in 1891 and 1907 is characterized by a Tuscan-style atrium with impluvium in the tuff and in this environment it was found a seal that bore the name of Fufidius Successus, who was also repeated on some graffiti on the wall; most of the pictorial decorations are in the third style like that of a rural sanctuary with flying animals around or Perseus releasing Andromeda.
House of Cenacolo (H) - It was excavated in 1891 and restored in 1975 offering the possibility of seeing the upper floor, which is accessed via a staircase in the atrium: this is characterized by four columns; in different rooms of the house are visible frescoes both in first and third style and remains of the mosaic pavement as in the tablinum, made with geometric motifs.

 

Insula 3 (Pompeii)

House with shop (3) - Excavated in 1877 and 1905, restored in 1979, it was also equipped with an upper floor, of which the first steps of the staircase can be seen: although inside there is no lararium, a statue was found in one of the rooms. of Fortune.
Attic House (4) - It is characterized by a long corridor made of limestone blocks and had to have the walls decorated with black ground plaster and a garden, with the remains of two columns that still have the stucco finishings, on which the tablinum appears, with lararium, decorated in red; other rooms also have remains of decorations in black, red and yellow, some of which are enriched with medallions with griffins.
House of Narcissus (6) - It was excavated between 1900 and 1902 : the part facing the street was used as a shop, where there was also a staircase leading to the upper floor; inside the house the paintings of the triclinium are well preserved, where in the panel we can see the representation of Narcissus, who also gives his name to the house, sitting on a podium.
House of the Queen of Holland (7) - It was first explored in 1901 and later in 1908 : once past the entrance, you enter a large vestibule overlooking the atrium, surrounded by cubicles; then follows a narrow corridor where the kitchen with latrine stood , and then to the garden where there are several well-preserved larariums, one of which is a niche with a pediment.
House of Cosmus and Epidia (9) - On the entrance façade there were some electoral inscriptions: inside, in the atrium, there are remains of the impluvium, while in some surrounding cubicles there are remains of the plaster in red and yellow; in the garden is a lararium with a niche, of which only a few traces of decoration remain, such as the serpent at the base.
House of M. Samellius Modestus (12) - Also called Casa degli Ori it is still partially excavated: on the façade several electoral inscriptions asking for votes for Sammelius Modestus, a construction, while in the entrance corridor red chalk panels with central squares depicting birds and insects were found; decorations, again on the subject of animals and insects, can also be found in other areas.

 

Insula 4 (Pompeii)

House of Marcus Lucretius Fronto (TO)

House of a Flamine (3) - It was excavated in 1842 and in 1899 and damaged during a bombing in 1943 , which destroyed among other things the staircase that led to the upper floor and part of the lararium in the atrium: in this same environment human and animal skeletons were also found; in various rooms there are traces of pictorial remains, some well preserved, while among the most significant finds several bronze and silver coins and statuettes of divinities were found.
Home of M. Fabius Secundus and Optata (13) - Also called Casa delle Origini in Rome, it was explored several times between 1873 and 1903 and is named after the discovery of a bronze seal with the name of Fabius Secundus and a small painting depicting the foundation of Rome , now exhibited at the museum archaeological site of Naples : the house has an irregular layout and in various environments, such as in the triclinium and in a diaeta, traces of wall decorations are still present.
House of M. Samellius Modestus (C) - Also known as the House of the Duchess of Aosta, it was excavated between 1905 and 1906, although only partially: on the façade an epigraph was found which referred to Sammelius Modestus and at the time of exploration it was possible to cast a ladder.

 

Insula 5 (Pompeii)

House of the Gladiators (3)

House without Compluvium (2) - It is so called because of the absence of the compluvium: the problem of lighting the environment was easily solved by creating large windows; the house, with an irregular layout, had walls up to six meters high and was also equipped with an upper floor. Characteristic is the graffiti near a window that convinced the thieves not to enter.

 

Insula 7 (Pompeii)

House of Paris (6) - It is a house partially excavated between 1907 and 1908 and of which only the façade is visible, even if the main entrance is not clearly known as seven gates were found: on the façade there are remains of plaster with some electoral registrations.

 

 

Regio VI (Pompeii)

Regio VI occupies the north western region of Pompeii. The district is bordered in the south by Via della Fortuna Augusta, and in the east by Via Stabiana. Regio VI consists of several private, commercial and public buildings. The Surgeon’s House (Insula 1) is known for its set of surgical instruments found here and with frescoes that leave no doubt that it was the surgeon of the city who lived here. Another interesting house in this area is Van House. Although the posh mansion was pretty much destroyed during the eruption, but something remained here, the mosaic that depicts the battle of Gavgamela, where Alexander III the Great (aka Macedonian) defeated Persian king Darius III. It is particularly interesting. This mosaic has been copied and printed many times in many historical books. If you visit this house, you will immediately recognize this mosaic.

 

Insula 1 (Pompeii)

House of the Vestals (7)

House of the Surgeon (10)

Triclinium House (1) - Located near Herculanean Gate, it was partially explored between 1770 and 1787 and what remains is a heap of ruins, partly destroyed by a bomb in 1943 and partly by a collapse that occurred in 1982: of the house, probably also used as a hotel , the remains of the triclinium with a small votive shrine are visible.

 

Insula 2 (Pompeii)

House of Sallust (4)

Amazon House (14) - Also called the House of Isis and Osiris, it was excavated in 1810 and slightly larger than one hundred and fifty square meters: in the atrium there are the remains of an impluvium and a lararium where several Egyptian gods were painted ; remains of decorations are present in different environments, especially in the triclinium, both pictorial, in the fourth style, such as the depiction of Ariadne and various female figures, which are floor, or remains of mosaics.
House of Narcissus (16) - It was explored in 1811 and 1818 and has a regular layout with atrium with impluvium in marble, which is visible a few remnants, garden with peristyle with four corner columns and kitchen with fireplace and maybe a latrine are still preserved mosaic traces used as a floor and sections of plaster on the walls.
Isis house (17) - It was explored between 1787 and 1818 and severely damaged during the bombing of 1943: it presents an atrium with impluvium and the remains of a cistern with puteal; traces of decorations in the third style are preserved in the triclinium.
House of M. Pupius (22) - Also called Casa di Apollo or Casa delle Danzatrici was excavated from 1811 to 1840 : an irregular-shaped house, with remains of the flooring and plaster in the entrance corridor, as well as in the atrium; in various rooms there are traces of decorations in the third style, including a fresco depicting a Silenus embracing a maenad, while in the peristyle the niche lararium has also been preserved.

 

Insula 3 (Pompeii)

Casa del Forno (3) - It dates back to the 2nd century BC and was restored following the earthquake of Pompei of 62: at the time of the eruption the works were not finished yet. Precisely following the seismic event, the residential area was moved to the upper floor, while the lower one was turned into a bakery: in fact there is an oven, grinders and kitchen. The house has a garden with a stable, where the skeleton of a mule was found.
House of Music (7) - So called because in it were found frescoes depicting numerous musical instruments , it features an atrium with impluvium and lararium, originally decorated and covered with red stucco, a tablinum and a peristyle: among the various works found a head of a lion in marble, used as a fountain and frescoes such as the prophecy of Cassandra and the abandonment of Dido.
House of Svettio (10) - It was also used as a workshop: in fact, it has a large entrance courtyard with the remains of a lararium in the center; among the various environments a kitchen with a latrine, the dormitory and the laboratory can be recognized, while no trace of ornaments remains.

 

Insula 5 (Pompeii)

House of Neptune (3) - It was excavated in 1843 and bombed during the Second World War, in 1943 : the entrance hall has a marble impluvium, at the center of which a statue of a Silenus was found, as well as several bronze putti and a pedestal always in marble; on the walls of the different rooms traces of paintings remain, especially in a room, where, in addition to the frescoes, the mosaic floor has also been preserved.
House of the Grand Duke Michael of Russia (5) - Also known as the House of Glass Vases, it was explored between 1837 and 1844 and between 2005 and 2011 : this last excavation session focused on what was below the building buried by the eruption of 79; the house has an atrium with impluvium, a garden with four columns that served as a pergola and some decorative half-columns resting on the boundary wall.
Faventinus House (16) - It was excavated in the nineteenth century and in 1976 : graffiti was present on the main façade, while inside is the atrium with impluvium and cistern, remains of a staircase leading to the upper floor, a tablinum with viridario; remains of paintings can be found in some rooms such as in the oecus, painted with walls in yellow and in a cubicle, with walls in red.
House of the Etruscan Column (17) - It is so called because of the presence of an Etruscan column in the atrium wall, which the owners of the house used as decoration: however, there are no signs of decoration in the house, except in a lararium, where some studies have confirmed the presence of three layers of stucco.
House of Flowers (19) - Also called Casa del Cinghiale or Casa dei Tre Cortili was excavated several times between 1808 and 1844: of modest dimensions, the house shows only a few traces of painting in an environment in a corner of the atrium, with motif frescoes geometric.

 

Insula 6 (Pompeii)

House of Pansa (1)

 

Insula 7 (Pompeii)

House of Adonis (18) - Also called the House of M. Asellini, it is so called both for the discovery of a seal with the name of M. Asellini, and for the presence of a fresco in the peristyle depicting the wounded Adonis : it has an atrium with remains of a marble impluvium and a garden with peristyle, surrounded by different environments; in these rooms the main pictorial decorations of the house are preserved.

House of Apollo (23)

House with Atrio Tetrastilo (3) - It presents a tetrastyle type atrium and an impluvium , around which, in small canals, a small garden was recreated: in the same room, under a lararium, was also found the graffiti of an alphabet made by a child; in different environments plaster has been preserved, especially in an environment where there is a fresco depicting Achilles and Patroclus.
House of Hercules (6) - It was explored in 1835 and restored in 1976 : it has remains of the red wall decoration both in the facade and in the entrance corridor; in the atrium you can see the impluuvio and a lararium at the aedicule where traces of the sacred figure are preserved, as well as remains of painting can be found in many rooms, while tall have been lost, like one depicting Jupiter, Bacchus, and Venus.
House of Inaco and Io (19) - Also called Casa di Fabius Tyrannus and Iarinus, it was excavated in 1836 and restored in 1978: it is a house with a regular layout, with an atrium and a small colonnaded garden with remains of columns on two sides; some traces of the plaster have been preserved, even if numerous frescoes have been lost with time: nevertheless the most interesting finding of the house were sixty-four silver cutlery.
Silver House (20) - Also called Casa dei Vasi d'Argento, it is so named because, on March 23, 1835 , several pieces of silverware were found, such as vases and cups , completely decorated: the house has a regular layout and the columns have been well preserved in the garden of the peristyle; in some rooms numerous traces of frescoes, some faded by time, others, like a representation of Apollo.

 

Insula 8 (Pompeii)

House of the Tragic Poet (5) - The House of the Tragic Poet was excavated between 1824 and 1825 and is smaller than the other large houses in Pompeii. At the entrance there is a mosaic with the inscription Cane Cavem; inside there were several frescoes then detached and preserved in the National Museum of Naples, like the scene of theatrical rehearsals, from which the house takes its name, or episodes of the Iliad.
House of L. Veranius Hypsaeus (21) - Excavated between 1824 and 1829, it is a house adjacent to the homonymous fullonica: the house has a well-preserved atrium, with columns around the impluvium in tuff and remains of mosaic pavement, the latter, especially in the tablinum, made with the opus signinum technique ; there are also visible traces of plaster that were part of decorations in third and fourth style and part of the staircase that led to the upper floor.
House of the Large Fountain (22) - It owes its name and its peculiarity to the presence in the garden of a large fountain, typical of the post- Augustan period, in the shape of a niche and entirely decorated with mosaics and pieces of polychrome glass ; there is also a bronze depicting a putto with a dolphin, a copy of the original one displayed at the archaeological museum in Naples.
House of the Small Fountain (23) - It dates back to the first half of the 2nd century BC and is structured on the entrance, atrium and tablinum axis. Right along the atrium, with impluvium, most of the rooms open. The peristyle is decorated with depictions of landscapes and maritime buildings; also present a fountain, which serves as a nymphaeum, decorated with mosaics and sculptures (from the 1st century AD).

 

Insula 9 (Pompeii)

House of Meleager (2)

House of the Dioscuri (6)

House of Isis and Io (1) - Also called Casa del Duca d'Aumale, it was probably a caupona, as evidenced by the enormous quantity of dishes found and preserved in the Condé museum in Paris : in the atrium, remains of the impluvium and a travertine block , used as a base for a safe ; several rooms were damaged by a bombing in 1943 and there are no pictorial decorations, some of which have been removed, such as the one depicting Io's arrival in Canopus.
House of the Centaur (2) - Also called House of A. Vettius Caprasius Felix is ​​the product of the union of two dwellings, as shown by the presence of a double tablinum, peristyle, which have preserved the columns, atrium and impluvium , almost intact , where, below one of they have been found a floor mosaic belonging to the previous house; there are also visible traces of wall decorations, especially frescoes of geometric shapes.
House of Cn. Caetronius Eutychus (7) - It was excavated between 1826 and 1837 : it is structured with an atrium with a central tuff, a kitchen, where the hearth is still visible, and the remains of a fresco depicting a snake near a lararium, a garden with triclinium and fourteen rooms, some of which retain pieces of plaster to the pereti, in red or white.

 

Insula 10 (Pompeii)

House of Zephir and Flora (11)

House of the Five Skeletons (2) - Also called Casa del Vatinicio di Cassandra, it has remains of plaster in red on the facade, while inside the atrium has a marble impluvium and a cocciopesto floor with some white tesserae; in a oecus a fresco by Elena and Paride and by Ulysses and Penelope, preserved in the national museum, was found; the same fate has affected the fresco of Perseus and Andromeda.
House of Caprasia and Nymphius (4) - It was explored in 1828 and 1831 and has an irregular layout: the triclinium was placed at the back of the house, with an entrance from the garden, which was probably decorated with potted plants; the remains of the staircase leading to the upper floor and traces of the floor mosaic are visible.
Pomponius House (6) - It is so called because at the time of the excavation, on the façade, a fresco was found with the inscription Pomponius, the owner of the house: in the atrium, besides the impluvium, a well and a mill were also found, perhaps waiting to be put in the cellar, while in the garden was a portico supported by four columns; remains of frescoes are observed in a cubicle and in an oecus, as well as pieces of colored stone flooring.
House of the Anchor (7) - It takes its name from a mosaic depicting a still place in the entrance area: the colonnaded garden with apse niches is also of interest.

 

Insula 11 (Pompeii)

House of the Labyrinth (9)

Eutychus house (8) - It was excavated in 1835 and had also preserved part of the upper floor, which was later lost, along with other rooms, due to a bombing in 1943: inside it was found a skeleton and several gold jewelry, while in the kitchen it was a lararium a kiosk, decorated inside with leaves and the depiction of a peacock.

 

Insula 12 (Pompeii)

House of the Faun (2)

 

Insula 13 (Pompeii)

House of the Glass Vases Group (2) - It was partially excavated in 1830 , to then be finished in 1874 : in 1943, two bombs dropped during the Second World War, caused the collapse of three rooms and the south-west part of the peristyle; on the garden there is the summer triclinium, the only one that preserves remains of wall decorations, with the fresco depicting Medea and the daughters of Pelia, preserved in the archaeological museum of Naples.
House of M. Terentius Eudoxus (6) - Also known as the Iron Oven House, it was explored several times between 1833 and 1873 and later damaged by a bombing in World War II: the atrium has the remains of a marble impluvium, while in the garden some remains have remained intact. Peristyl was transformed by the owner into a textile workshop.
House of Claudius Eulogus (10) - Excavated in 1874, it is of modest size and has an atrium with an impluvium , where it was originally placed a masonry table lost after a bombing in 1943.

House of Gavius ​​Proculus (16) - It was probably also used as a caupona : in fact, the garden was the place where guests were served; in addition to traces of electoral inscriptions on the façade, lost, the house has no particular decorations, although it is characteristic, on the outside, a water tower, from which six pipes of different sizes come out that kept the water flow constant.
House of Pompeius Axiochus (19) - It is so called because inside it was found a seal with this name: on the facade there were several graffiti, while inside there are wall decorations with geometrical patterns in yellow and red and remains of mosaic floor; features six niches in a garden wall: in one of them the statue of a boy was found.

 

Insula 14 (Pompeii)

House of Adelaide of England (5) - Also called House of Mars or House of the Five Consulates it was excavated in various stages between 1839 and 1874: of modest size, the house has an atrium with remains of impluvium in marble, triclinium and cubicles; very few decorations except a niche in the atrium which originally had to be decorated in stucco.
House of L. Numisius Rarus (12) - Also called Casa della Moglie Oppia, it has an atrium with impluvium in tufa, surrounded by cubicles and a winter triclinium, while the garden, with a portico supported by two columns, lacked a tablinum.
House of Orpheus (20) - Also called House of Vesonius Primus has electoral inscriptions on the facade, while in the entrance corridor there were decorations in the fourth style lost after a bombing during the Second World War: in the same environment it was possible to reproduce the cast of an agonizing dog; inside the house there are frescoes on the walls and mosaics used as floors.
House of Memmius Auctus (27) - It is so called because of the finding of a bronze seal bearing that name: of modest size it was equipped with an atrium with five rooms, where some amphorae used for wine collection, a kitchen and a lost upper room were found ; among the finds found four marble busts of philosophers and various statuettes of divinities both in marble, in bronze, and in terracotta.
House of Laocoon  (30) - It was explored in 1876 : in the entrance corridor the pavement was in opus signinum in white stones, the atrium is of Tuscan type, a decorated tablinum and a small garden with a lararium frescoed in the tympanum with an aquatic bird and other animals in the rest of the niche; among the frescoes found in the house, one depicting Polyphemus and Aeneas and another depicting the death of Laocoon and his sons, although partially damaged.
House of C. Poppaeus Firmus (38) - It was excavated between 1834 and 1874 and bombed in 1943 causing the destruction of the atrium and some rooms as well as the loss of numerous wall decorations: the garden has a portico on the south side supported by nine columns; the main frescoes found in the house are Pindar and Corinna and Theseus who receives the string from Arianna.
House of Lucrum Gaudium (39) - It was explored in 1876 : the house had to have an entrance hall with doors to Persian and flooring applicant was in irregular pieces of marble and lava ; the atrium had an impluvium with a mosaic in the center that was destroyed in the 1943 bombing : then followed by a tablinum and a garden with an exedra and the remains of two staircases leading to the upper floor.
House of the Empress of Russia (42) - It was discovered in 1846 when the princess from whom it took its name was visited in Pompeii : inside it were found numerous precious objects, statues and coins as well as well-preserved frescoes, detached to then be kept at the national archaeological museum of Naples, like a woman while painting, found in a cubicle and two women in conservation, near the tablinum.
House of Scientists (43) - On the façade there was a representation of Mercury, while the internal atrium is characterized by an impluvium with the remains of a masonry fountain; in various environments traces of wall and floor decorations can be found, in this case a mosaic, while in the garden, in addition to preserving part of the colonnade, a fountain decorated with a mosaic was found, where in the center, on a pedestal, was placed a statue of Mars.

 

Insula 15 (Pompeii)

House of the Vettii (1)

House of the Prince of Naples

House of Appuleia and Narcissus (2) - It is so called because on the main facade a graffiti was found that reported these two names: excavated in 1895 , it is of modest size, slightly exceeding three hundred square meters; inside is the atrium, the tablinum, a small courtyard and six rooms: the pictorial decorations are in second, third and fourth style.
Fullonica of Mustius (3) - Excavated in 1896, it owes its name to electoral inscriptions found outside it: terracotta tiles decorated with reliefs , such as horse- drawn Cupid and two male figures were found in the kitchen.
House of M. Pupius Rufus (5) - It has an entrance characterized by an architrave supported by large blocks of tuff, while inside the atrium is of the Tuscan type, the tablinum was also used as a triclinium and the garden had two rows of columns, some of which still with plaster: in various rooms there are traces of pictorial decorations in all four styles and remains of mosaic floors, such as the tablinum.
House of A. Caesius Valens (6) - Also called Casa del Focolare di Ferro it was explored in 1895 and both the atrium and the columns that supported the compluvium were found without any decoration, while in other rooms there are preserved both paintings and the cocciopesto floor, made with colored marbles: frescoes they are visible in the triclinium, like the cupids, Venus and Adonis and an architectural drawing surmounted by a vase and a griffin.
House of Compluvium (9) - Also called Casa del Doppio Impuvlium, it has the characteristic of having an atrium with columns that support an upper floor which can be accessed via a staircase: in some rooms of the house are visible remains of wall decorations, both stucco and paintings.
Home of Seeus Vestalis (12) - It was excavated in 1896 and is so named for the discovery of this name on an amphora: of just over one hundred and fifty square meters, it has an atrium, a spacious room, probably a triclinium and six other rooms; decorations are missing.
House of the Unknown Matron (14) - It is named for the discovery to the inside of a cubicle, at the center of the floor, a mosaic depicting a young matron with hair wavy and earrings of pearls : the house has a long entrance hall, originally painted yellow, with an atrium impluvium and originally paved with pieces of colored marble; there are nine rooms, some of which still have residual traces of painting in the fourth style.
Thermopolium (15) - On the walls there are red and white decorations with vases and birds clashing at the center of the panels: the counter is covered with pieces of marble and inside there are three dolia.
Caupona (16) - The counter, covered with marble and slate fragments, contained four terracotta containers, of which only one remained: on the back there are various rooms, without decoration, where only a few graffiti have been found.
House of Stlaborius Auctus (20) - It was excavated in 1897 and originally, near the entrance, had to have a masonry seat: internally it consists of a central courtyard around which the various rooms were opened, such as the kitchen with fireplace and the triclinium which was to have walls in red, coated, a few years before the eruption, with lime, just like the other rooms had walls covered with rough plaster.
House of Cinnius Fortunatus (22) - It was explored in 1896 and owes its name to the discovery of an amphora bearing this name: the two-storey house had walls simply covered with plaster without any kind of decoration; inside, two skeletons have been found.
House without a name (23) - Explored in 1896, it has an area of ​​four hundred and thirty square meters and is divided into eleven rooms : the peristyle had eleven columns in rough plaster that were distributed on the four sides and of which only the bases and remains of painting remain, especially the lararium, especially the lararium, at the time of the excavation, perfectly preserved, with two snakes at the base and various floral and bird decorations; a seal and numerous skeletons have been found.

 

Insula 16 (Pompeii)

House of the Golden Cupids (7)

House of the Ara Maxima (15)

Thermopolium (2) - It is characterized by a counter, with two or three urns to hold the food and originally painted with stuccoes in red and covered with pieces of marble; the shop also had a fireplace, the remains of which are visible and a room at the back.
Fullonica of Manius Salarius Crocus (3) - It preserves two large masonry basins where fulling took place, made of bricks and remains of a basin.
House of Erastus (10) - It was used both as a warehouse in the front and at home in the rear: the warehouse had white walls and a clay floor, while the house had a cocciopesto floor and white walls, sometimes decorated with red bands and small drawings.
House of the Altar of Jupiter (26) - Excavated in 1904 , it is over five hundred square meters wide: it has two atriums, a peristyle colonnade on three sides, while the fourth is characterized by semi-columns and remains of pictorial decorations in first and fourth style in different environments; in the center of the garden a series of dolia have been found .
House of Coponii (28) - Also called the House of the Hunt of the Bulls, it was excavated in 1904 : it has an atrium with plaster-coated impluvium and pieces of marble, a tablinum, which still preserves the wall decorations with panels in the center of which are depicted various figures like a naked man playing or architectural drawings and different environments with traces of frescoes; They were also found glasses in glass and a clay statue of Venus.
House of C. Vettius Firmus (29) - It is so called because near the entrance a graffiti with this name was found: the entrance corridor was decorated with a black plinth, while the upper part with fake white marble slabs, the atrium does not have an impluent, while in some of the nine rooms that make up the house, remains of painting in the fourth style have been preserved ; among the main finds is a skeleton, two bronze coins and a lamp.
House with shop (31) - Explored in 1905, it is divided into five rooms with cocciopesto flooring and frescoes in the first and fourth style : we can see the painting of a mountain landscape, a landscape with a sacred tree and a temple and another well preserved but with an interpretation uncertain; a large number of terracottas have been found .
House of L. Aurunculeius Secundio (32) - It was explored in 1904 and has an atrium with remnants of impluvium and two niches used as a lararium and five rooms with wall decorations in the fourth style: between the main frescoes two women approaching an altar dedicated to Priapus, Polyphemus sitting on a cliff and various depictions of fruit and birds; moreover, in a room, numerous objects were found in glass, crystal, lead, iron and marble.
Bar of L. Aurunculeius Secundio (33) - It has a paving in opus signinum, while the walls, in white stucco, divided by yellow lines, present a bird in the center: the counter, in masonry, had to be decorated in the central area, with the representation of an erect phallus, of which remain few traces.
House of Q. Poppaeus Sabinus (36) - It has a long entrance corridor, at the end of which an iron bell was found , which leads directly to the peristyle, which preserves traces of columns on three sides: around it there are the five rooms of the house with remains of painting in third and fourth style and mosaic flooring; the niche lararium with large columns is characteristic.
Thermopolium (40) - Divided into different rooms, some were intended for customers, while others were for the owner: a latrine, an oven in a masonry, a lararium can be seen , which at the time of the excavation was still painted in red and yellow with eggs , pine cones and flowers , and the counter with marble cladding ; a lamp was also found on which are depicted Isis, Arpocrates and Anubis, now preserved in the National Archaeological Museum of Naples.

 

Insula 17 (Pompeii)

House of the Library (41)

House of the Golden Bracelet (42)

House of Popidius Rufus (5) - It is a small house of less than one hundred square meters with just three rooms: excavated in 1804 , electoral inscriptions were found on the main facade, while on the inside, of irregular shape, it presents an atrium with remains of impluvium.
House of Dancers (10) - It was explored in 1764 : the entrance is via three steps, entering directly into the atrium, then follows the tablinum and the garden, while the rooms are thirteen; the house is in ruins and inside there are some well-preserved frescoes, later exposed to the National Archaeological Museum of Naples, such as the liberation of Andromeda and Ercole who frees Esione.
House of C. Nivillio (13) - Also called Casa dei Tre Piani, it was excavated in 1763 and is a little less than five hundred square meters wide: it has the typical atrium with impluvium, surrounded by three rooms and tablinum; however there are no traces of decorations.
House of C. Ceius (16) - It has the characteristic of presenting a double atrium: the first is surrounded by six rooms, the second by five; the house also has a kitchen whose hearth is still visible and access to the cellar and a tablinum, while there is no decoration whatsoever.
House of Leone (25) - It was explored in 1771 but following the bombing in 1943 , it was almost completely destroyed: there remains the large entrance vestibule and the northern part of the atrium wall with the presence of three niches; inside were found some frescoes, detached and preserved in the archaeological museum of Naples, like the depiction of a town and a scene of boats with fishermen.
House of the Corpses of Gypsum (27) - It was discovered in 1750 and is today partly the site of the Pompeii excavation direction : with an irregular layout, it had an atrium, a tablinum and a colonnaded peristyle on two sides; the only remaining decorations is a part of the mosaic floor in the atrium.
House of Diana II (32) - It was explored in 1760 and is in a state of disrepair: the entrance, characterized by three steps, still retains traces of stucco used to decorate the façade , while inside it has an irregular plan, with an atrium, a garden, at the center of which was probably find a fountain and fourteen rooms; nothing remains of the decorations.

 

 

Regio VII (Pompeii)

Regio VII occupies the central western sector of Pompeii and borders in the north with Via della Fortuna Augusta and in the south with Marina or Marine Street. The Pompeii Forum (dark gray) is located in the middle of this area. Regio consists of 16 Insulas and they are all dug out. Of these, Insula 2, 4, and 16 contain buildings that need to be considered in more detail. Insula 16 is the southern half of the so-called Eastern Insula. “Insula Occidentalis". The area covers a combination of commercial, real estate and frequent houses.

 

Stabian Baths of Pompeii

Forum Baths of Pompeii (Insula 2, 5, 7, 24)

Lupanare or Brothel (Insula 12, 18)

 

Insula 1 (Pompeii)

House of Siricus (47)

House of M. Caesi Blandi (40) - Also called the House of Mars and Venus, it was excavated in 1848 and 1862 : the atrium has an impluvium in tuff and almost all the mosaic flooring, which near the entrance takes the design of dolphins, then follows the tablinum and the peristyle, with the colonnade almost completely intact; in three rooms there are both remains of paintings and mosaic floors.

 

Insula 2 (Pompeii)

House of Gavius Rufus (16)

House of the Bear (45)

House of T. Terentius Proculu (3) - It has been explored several times between 1843 and 1868 : after passing the large entrance vestibule, one can directly access the peristyle where a basin was to be built in the center ; the house also had an area dedicated to a bakery, with an oven and millstones, and the main decoration was represented by a lararium with a frescoed vestal in the act of pouring libations, with a donkey behind him and a Genius.
House of T. Terentius Neo (6) - It was explored between 1843 and 1868 and is a home of modest size, with irregular plant, with atrium with impluvium in marble and eight rooms , some of which are resistant wall decorations, especially in the plinth: the north face ' esedra was found one of the most famous frescoes of ancient Pompeii, namely that of Terentius Neo with his wife.
Optatio's house (14) - It is so called because of the discovery of a graffiti that bears this name: the atrium preserves the impluvium , while in the tablinum are visible remains of the ancient mosaic pavement; in the rest of the house, in different rooms, remains of plaster with a black background, while in a room along the garden a lararium was painted , now faded, with a snake at the base and two deities on it.
House of C. Vibi (18) - It has the classic scheme of the Roman house: in the atrium there are the remains of a marble table with decorated feet and around it there are cubicles, where in one the representation of a sacred landscape was found; it then continues with the garden and the remains of the peristyle with the portico, where in the center there was a swimming pool, while in the triclinium three dining sofas were found , in wood and bronze with inlays in silver and copper .
House of N. Popidius Priscus (20) - Also known as the House of Marbles , a statue of a Silenus was explored between 1833 and 1864 and among the main finds, the atrium has a tuff tuff and around it various cubicles with remains of wall decorations in black or red, while in the garden, in addition to bases of columns, a staircase was found that led to the cellars , inside which is a lararium, still frescoed, on whose altar remains of offerings were found.
House of Eros Punito (23) - Also called the House of Vettius, it is so called because of the finding of a fresco showing Venus leading Eros to a punishment for making a mistake while launching an arrow : the house has a regular layout, with an atrium and a tablinum, where it was found. main fresco, along with another depicting Mars and Venus.
Casa delle Quadrighe (25) - Also called Casa della Caccia Nuova has a long entrance corridor on which opens the kitchen that preserves the remains of a lararium by now faded paintings, while those of the triclinium have been removed to be preserved at the archaeological museum of Naples, including the fresco of the Hephaestus workshop ; his painter, on the other hand, preserves the viridario, with garden scenes , with plants , flowers , fountains and large animals .
House of Mercury (35) - It was excavated in 1844 , 1848 and 1862 : a little over two hundred square meters, past the entrance one enters the atrium with impluvium , where a column remains and around it are the eight rooms that make up the house; remains of wall decorations in red and black are found on the walls, in addition to the remains of a staircase that led to the upper floor and another that led to the cellar.
House of Popidi Prisci (38) - It measures just over a square meter and is composed of six rooms: in some of them, especially in the tablinum and in the atrium, decorative panels in yellow and red are preserved; the house also had a second floor.
House of D. Caprasius Primus (48) - It was explored in the second half of the nineteenth century and has an irregular plan: remains of pictorial decorations are still observed in an environment even if staked during Bourbon explorations; in the same room it is also easy to understand, through the decorations in stucco, which had a ceiling once.
House of Suettii, Potitus and Elainus (51) - It has an entrance with square tuff capitals and on the main façade there are electoral inscriptions: inside the house is composed of atrium, tablinum, triclinium, kitchen with the remains of the hearth and an oven, garden and viridario and in some of these rooms it is possible to see the remains of stuccos and frescoes, which, like those of the entrance corridor, refer to the first style, with colorful geometric designs.

 

Insula 3 (Pompeii)

House of Ercole Fanciullo (11) - It was dug several times between 1837 and 1867 : as soon as you pass the entrance, there are the remains of a staircase that led to the upper floor, the atrium has meager remains of impluvium and in the garden there was a shrine with a kiosk ; the house was owned by an Egyptian, since inside it was found a bench decorated with symbols of Egyptian culture: this find is now preserved in the National Archaeological Museum of Naples.
House of the Double Lararium (13) - It was explored between 1837 and 1869 and is so called because in the garden there are the remains of two superimposed larars: the house had entrance directly from a shop and then followed the atrium, the tablinum and the garden, beyond to several cubicles and to the kitchen, in which there was, next to the hearth , painted a lararium, lost.
House of M. Spuri Mesoris (29) - It presents an entrance atrium with marble puteal, while the impluvium has been lost , whose shape can hardly be recognized and around it there are cubicles and the triclinium containing traces of pictorial decoration in red and yellow; in a cubicle the decorative panels remained almost completely intact, together with stuccoes and flooring.
Baker's House (30) - Also called the House of the Magistrate Anonymous it was excavated in 1863 and 1869 and is so named because inside it was found a fresco to which two different interpretations have been given: the first is that it is a bakery , while the second is a magistrate who distributes bread to the people ; the house consists of an atrium, kitchen with latrine, oecus and triclinium, as well as several cubicles.

 

Insula 4 (Pompeii)

Temple of Fortuna August (1)

House of the Colored Capitals (31)

House of the Figured Capitals (57)

House of the Wild Boar

House of Bacchus (10) - It houses the direction of the excavations, was explored in 1824 and 1826 and later damaged by the bombing of the Second World War in 1943 : it is so called because of the discovery of a life-size fresco of Bacchus with a panther on its feet; of the house remains only the restored impluvium, while other frescoes and a marble floor have been found in the area of ​​the exedra.
House of the Ancient Hunt (48) - It preserves the original structure, that is, formed by the entrance, atrium and tablinum , the latter finely decorated with a plinth that imitates marble , while in the predella , Nilotic landscapes are drawn . The garden has a little preserved fresco on the back wall , which describes a hunt at the fairs. Also a room near the atrium is of considerable interest.
House of the Grand Duke of Tuscany (56) - On the external façade there is a terracotta emblem depicting an eagle , while inside there is an atrium with impluvium, surrounded by cubicles, one of which is frescoed with a lararium and a plinth in red; then it follows a tablinum, in which it was found the fresco of punishment Dirce and the garden, with a fountain in niche completely covered in mosaic and decorated with shells .
Black Wall House (59) - Also known as the House of the Bronzes, it takes its name from the triclinium which had walls painted in black, in fourth style , partly destroyed after the bombing of 1943 and partially restored: the house has an atrium, with several rooms around it, too they were damaged during the Second World War and a garden with peristyle; the remains of capitals in Nocera tuff have also been found .
House of Terracotta Forms (62) - Also known as the House of Tullius Faustus, it was explored in 1832 and 1837 : it presents the classic layout of Roman houses and traces of decorations in third style remain, both paintings and stucco; a bronze ring was found near the entrance.

 

Insula 6 (Pompeii)

House of Diana III (3) - Also called the House of M. Spurius Saturninus and D. Volcius Modestus was excavated in 1760 and later, having been looted, was buried: explored again between 1841 and 1910 , it was devastated by bombing in 1943, reducing it to a heap of rubble; between 2007 and 2010 restoration work protected part of the kitchen, which has the remains of a frescoed lararium: one of the main finds is a statue of Diana.
House of the Peristyle (28) - Also called Casa di Secundus Tyrannus Fortunatus was heavily bombed during the Second World War, leading to the destruction of some environments that preserved paintings in third style ; However, the main decoration were detached in the Bourbon period and stored in the Naples Archaeological Museum: In addition to the various frescoes were recovered cups and vases in ivory , decorated with figures in relief.
House of Petutius Quintio (30) - So called because of the discovery of this name on an amphora placed at the entrance, it was explored at the end of the 18th century and in the first Bourbon surveys it was stripped of all the main decorations: traces of stuccoed columns and walls painted in red remain and in yellow.
House of Cipius Pamphilus Felix (38) - It consists of an atrium and a small garden with the remains of four columns: between the rooms, in an oecus , we can see remains of painting with geometric shapes, while the best preserved ones are kept in the archaeological museum of Naples , such as the fresco of lararium found in the kitchen.

 

Insula 7 (Pompeii)

Triptolemus House (5) - It was explored between 1859 and 1871 : it has an entrance corridor that overlooks the atrium with impluvium followed by the tablinum and the peristyle, which contained a masonry altar, decorated with yellow and red flowers ; during the excavations sixteen terracotta lamps were found , while the second and fourth style frescoes preserved in the tablinum were lost following the bombing in 1943.
House of Romulus and Remus (10) - It is so named for the finding of a fresco, in the oecus , depicting the birth of Rome with Romulus and Remus along with the she- wolf : this paintings, along with many others, were lost following a bombing during the Second World War; part of the plinth remains on which panels were then drawn, often with scenes of animals: a skeleton of a man with a gold ring on his finger was found.
Home of the Veteranus Iulianus (16) - It was explored in 1871 : the house did not have an atrium and was accessed directly in the peristyle, where an aviary was placed, of which one can still see the basal remains of stones arranged in a circle; decorative shapes are missing.
House of the Altar of Jupiter (21) - It is a house of modest dimensions investigated four times from 1817 to 1868 and subsequently heavily damaged by the air raids of the Second World War, which led to the destruction of rooms and frescoes.
House of C. Julius Primigenius (23) - It was excavated in 1845 and in 1859 : traces of the peristyle remain with columns, although these were partly destroyed by bombing in 1943 , as well as the remains of a lararium with a snake at the base and drawings of plants in the niche.

 

Insula 9 (Pompeii)

House of the King of Prussia (33) - It was probably a caupona and is composed of an atrium, a kitchen, a dormitory and an upper floor: in the atrium it is possible to see the fresco depicting a landscape and a lararium and at the base was a fountain decorated with mosaics, damaged; in the house was also found an erotic fresco preserved in the Neapolitan archaeological museum.
House of Mars and Venus (47) - Also called the House of Hercules and Ebe's wedding, it dates back to the 2nd century BC and has a Tuscan atrium and a peristyle: part of the construction also had to be made of wood as shown by a series of holes left by the poles around the impluvium.

 

Insula 10 (Pompeii)

House of the New Hunt (3) - It was excavated in 1821 and 1863 : the atrium has remains of mosaic flooring with a central design in the tablinum; around the entrance room, where a fresco with Arianna and Teseo was also found , there are cubicles, with parts of plaster on the wall and floor: the garden, with peristyle supported by fluted columns and a small central fountain, had to be embellished with a large animal fresco.

 

Insula 12 (Pompeii)

House of L. Caecilius Capella (3) - Also called the House of Prince Henry of Holland, it was excavated in 1845 and 1863 and featured several electoral inscriptions on the façade: inside it consists of an entrance corridor, atrium and garden with peristyle which had a small swimming pool with fountain in the center, where a statue of a half-naked boy was found, grasping the head and tail of a dolphin in his hands.
House of Narcissus (21) - Also called House of the Statue of Narcissus it is so named for the discovery of a bronze statue, in a room near the entrance, which depicts Narcissus or Dionysus : the atrium has a marble impluvium and, like the cubicles that it is around there are remains of wall decorations; then follows the triclinium and the kitchen with the remains of the hearth: inside were also found several bronze kitchen utensils like jugs.
House of Camillo (23) - It was to be used as a workshop for the production of wool : from the atrium, through some steps, it is possible to reach the triclinium and the garden, where originally, in four niches, four statues in blue were frescoed; in various environments the wall decorations are preserved both in the plaster and stucco part.
House of Cornelius Diadumenus (26) - It is thus named for a rediscovered seal , bearing this name: several pictorial decorations are still preserved in the house, both in the triclinium and in the rooms overlooking the garden; the best-preserved frescoes have been removed to be preserved in the archaeological museum of Naples, such as that of Artemis and the nymph Callisto, found in the triclinium and Aphrodite , found in a room near the atrium.
Hanging Balcony House (28) - It has the distinction of having preserved part of the upper floor, which protrudes on the road from the entrance below: inside, a central garden with peristyle supported by three columns and a pillar, where there was also a fountain decorated with a statue of the baby.

 

Insula 13 (Pompeii)

Gianimede's house (4) - Also called Casa delle Quattro Stagioni was excavated in 1839 and 1863 : remains of the impluvium are preserved in the atrium and around cubicles and oecus with remains of plaster in yellow and red; in the garden there are surviving some pieces of the column of the peristyle and the entrance to the triclinium room, which originally had walls plastered in white, with relief depictions.
House of Lucio Cecilio Commune (8) - Also called the House of M. Stronnius Favorinus has a long access corridor where the staircase leading to the upper floor was also placed: the atrium preserves the impluvium surrounded by the remains of four columns and around it the rooms of the house open up , including the kitchen, with a masonry bench and the triclinium, with remains of the plinth in red.

 

Insula 14 (Pompeii)

Casa del Cambio (5) - Also called the House of the Banker or Queen's House of England, it was excavated between 1838 and 1863 : in the atrium there is a characteristic niche lararium, supported by a column and two half-columns resting on the wall; there are remains of mosaic flooring or pieces of marble and wall decorations: in the kitchen it is an oven and a kettle, while in another room tanks used for coloring fabrics .
House of Valerio Popidio (9) - Also called Casa delle Colombe, it was explored in 1838 : after passing the entrance corridor, you enter the atrium with marble impluvium and surrounded by cubicles and an oecus; then follows the tablinum and the garden with a portico on the south side, supported by five pillars , while the kitchen was also equipped with an oven: a skeleton was found inside the house.
House of L. Caecilius Communis (15) - Also called the House of M. Stronnius Favorinus was excavated in 1840 and 1862 : the house consists of an entrance hall, cubicles, a kitchen, while the garden was missing, which was recreated directly in the tablinum by a painting; little remains of mosaic decoration can be seen along a wall of a closet.

 

Insula 15 (Pompeii)

Sailor's House (2) - Also called Casa di Niobe or Casa del Gallo, it preserves remains of mosaic flooring in the entrance corridor, in the atrium, in a bedroom, with geometric designs, and in the tablinum: the garden was devastated by some bombs dropped during the second world war, while another peculiarity was the presence of a small thermal area with calidarium and tepidarium , as well as a dressing room.
House of A. Octavius ​​Primus (13) - It was explored in 1859 and in 1872 and damaged by a bomb during World War II: in the atrium, in addition to the impuvium, the four columns that supported the compluvium , a puteal and a marble table with decorated feet are preserved ; in the triclinium remains of painting , while in the kitchen part of a lararium is preserved, with a snake climbing up a column, made of stucco.
House of C. Julius Nicephorus (14) - It was excavated in 1859 and in 1872 and is of modest dimensions: it is simply composed of an atrium, a kitchen, several small rooms and an oecus overlooking the garden with remains of the peristyle.

 

Insula 16 (Pompeii)

House of M. Fabius Rufus (22)

House of Aemilius Crescens (3) - It has an irregular plant and after being explored in 1842 and in 1872 it was badly damaged by a bombing in 1943 which destroyed most of its decorations: it was later restored in 1950 ; near the front door two electoral inscriptions were painted, detached and preserved in the archaeological museum of Naples.
House of the Prince of Montenegro (10) - It was excavated in 1851 but was heavily damaged by bombing in 1943 : in fact, the atrium and several rooms that had decorations in third and fourth style were destroyed.
House of Umbricius Scaurus II (13) - It was excavated from 1851 to 1858 but heavily bombed in 1943 , reducing it to a pile of rubble: from the regular layout, it has an atrium with impluvium , a tablinum and a peristyle with a central pool surrounded by columns, as well as nineteen rooms ; among the main surviving decorations, remains of wainscoting on the walls in yellow and floor mosaics, in some cases arranged according to design.
House of Umbricius Scaurus I (15) - It was heavily bombed during the Second World War, causing its almost total destruction and reducing it to a pile of rubble: restoration work took place only in 2010 and 2011 ; however in some areas it is still possible to observe the remains of the mosaic pavement and the yellow wainscoting of different environments.
House of Maius Castricius (17) - It is part of the complex of the house of Fabio Rufo and is so called because of the discovery of an Oscan inscription bearing this name: the house had to be composed of a peristyle with columns, along which the rooms were opened and a garden, on which walls, animals, pygmies and gladiators are depicted.

 

 

 

Regio VIII (Pompeii)

Regio VIII occupies the southwestern sector of Pompeii and is limited in the north along Via Marina or Marine Street and Via delle Abbondanza and east of Via di Stabia. Regio also defines the southern limits of the Pompeii Forum and contains the administrative offices of the Edila Hall, Curia and the Duoviri Hall. Regio consists of 7 Insulas. Of these, Insula 2 and 4 contain buildings, which are discussed in more detail here.

 

Suburban Baths (Pompeii)

Suburban Baths were built outside of Pompeii just 100 meters from the Sea Gate (Porta Marina). It shows how little interest did ancient Romans of the time period gave to safety of their cities. They had no fear of invasion and in case of Suburban Baths aesthetics reasons trampled practicality.

 

 

Theatre

Gladiators' Barracks

Odeon Pompeii

Triangular Forum

Doric Temple

Temple of Isis

Sarno Baths

 

Insula 1 (Pompeii)

Samnite Palaestra

Temple of Venus

Temple of Asclepius

 

Insula 2 (Pompeii)

House of the Geometric Mosaics (16)

Championnet House I (1) - It was excavated in 1799, in 1812 and in 1828 ; exceeded the corridor of entrance leads to ' atrium with impluvium in marble with remains of three columns of the four who claimed the compluvium : both the atrium and in the cubicles surrounding, well-preserved mosaics pavements, both geometric patterns, which with tesserae colored; the garden is composed of an atrium with twelve columns and the house was completed with a lower floor.
House of Championnet II (2) - It was discovered in 1808 : it has the typical pattern of Roman houses, with atrium with impluvium and garden with peristyle which ran on all four sides and of which the bases of the columns remain; in some rooms you can see remains of mosaics used as flooring.
House of L. Aelius Magnus (21) - It was an old house, with time incorporated into the Terme del Sarno: after the entrance, in the corridor, small rooms open to the sides , until reaching a large tablinum, where however there are no signs of decorations ; in 1943 the house was hit by a bomb which remained unexploded.
House of the Boar II (26) - Also called Casa di Vesbinus, it was excavated between 1887 and 1927 and is so called because at the entrance there is a mosaic floor depicting a wild boar : other decorations of the same type or pictorial , in the third style , are found in the rooms that open around. atrium and tablinum; a staircase leads to the lower floor, where there are cubicles, the kitchen and the garden.
Casa del Ninfeo (28) - It was first explored in 1758 and later in 1886 and 1928 ; past the entrance one enters the tetrastyle type atrium, which is overlooked by the ruins of several cubicles and a lararium characterized by three marble steps: several frescoes were found here , depicting books , coins and a barrel; in the garden is the nymphaeum from which the house takes its name.
Severus House (30) - It is given by the union of two dwellings and excavated in 1797 , in 1883 and in 1928 : it is located near the city walls , which partly exceeded the garden area; there are two atriums and in one of the access corridors the remains of the pavement are visible, the atrium is complete with impluvium and in the tablino a staircase leads to the level below where the bedrooms are placed, while in the garden there was a swimming pool.
House of Mosaic Doves (34) - It is so called because of the discovery of a mosaic in the tablinum depicting doves drinking; just the mosaics are the recurrent element in the house, especially in the pavement : the atrium had to have black and white tesserae, with inserts of stars, while those of the cubicles are well preserved; from the tablinum come a mosaic with geometric figures with four ducks on the sides and one depicting a lion.
House of L. Caecilius Phoebus (36) - It was arranged on three levels: the entrance floor and an upper floor, lost and a lower one; more than a thousand square meters wide and with over ten rooms, the house has meager remnants of wall decoration: in the atrium there is an impluvium in tuff, while in the garden the remains of the pool are visible.
House of Joseph II (39) - Also called Casa di Fusco it was investigated in several stages between 1750 and 1928 : arranged on three levels, it measures over a thousand square meters and is divided into about eighteen rooms; the area of ​​the atrium preserves the impluufo in tufo and around you open cubicles, inside of which various frescos have been found, preserved then to the national archaeological museum of Naples, all in the third style: in the inferior plan instead it was found the thermal area.

 

Insula 3 (Pompeii)

House of Hercules and Auge (4) - It presents an atrium in which the remains of columns that supported the compluvium and around various cubicles are visible, which at the time of the excavation were still frescoed: in one of it the representation of Dionysus and a Silenus was found ; then follows the tablinum and the garden, while the hearth is still visible in the kitchen : remains of wall decorations are in the oecus.
Boar's House I (8) - It belonged to the family of the Coeli and presents the floor mosaic of the entrance and atrium completely intact, in some parts arranged in a drawing, among which stands the representation of a fortified city and a scene of ducks and flowers , with colored tesserae, preserved at the Archaeological Museum of Naples: in the garden the peristyle columns are well preserved, almost all still with capitals.
Queen Carolina's home (14) - It was excavated between 1809 and 1839 and has the characteristic of having a low wall in the atrium, with the four sides of the pillars supporting the roof , at the center of which is the marble impluvium : remains of a staircase ensure the presence of an upper floor, while in the garden there is a masonry basin and a lararium which is accessed via four steps and supported by two columns.
Diana's house (18) - It was explored in 1826 and in 1840 and is a modestly sized dwelling: the rooms all open around the atrium, which has remains of impluvium and puteal ; the kitchen still has the hearth and the remains of a staircase ensure that it has an upper floor: there are few decorations found inside.
House of Sex. Decimius Rufus (21) - It opens with an access corridor along which is the entrance to the kitchen which still preserves the oven and a cubicle; in the garden, on a column of the peristyle a graffiti was found with the name that was then given to the house: in the same room is also a lararium which was covered with white stucco and red stripes.
House of Plotilla (24) - Also called Casa d'Apolline and Coronide it is characterized by a long entrance corridor that leads directly into the peristyle which still has the remains of columns: around it all the rooms of the house, including kitchen and latrine, open.
Bread House (31) - It was explored in 1818 : the atrium has an impluvium in tufa and around it various environments including an oecus , a closet, two bedrooms, triclinium and tablinum, while in the garden, which presents the remains of the colonnade, a exedra.

 

Insula 4 (Pompeii)

House of Holconius Rufus (4)

House of Cornelius Rufus (15)

House of T. Mescini Gelonis (9) - It was also used as a laundry : the atrium has remains of impluvium and a marble table and around it there are several small rooms, which in total, in the house, are twelve; then follow tablinum and peristyle: the decorations are scarce.
House with Atrio Tetrastilo (34) - Also called Casa di Onfale it is so named both because of the atrium of the tetrastyle type that is observed just past the entrance, and for the discovery, in the tablinum, of a fresco depicting Hercules and Omphale : in the same environment also a painting by Diana and Endymion and Hippolytus ; remains of paint are visible in different rooms of the house.

 

Insula 5 (Pompeii)

House of the Rooster I (2) - It was excavated in 1840 , 1881 and 1943 : the house is characterized by two atriums, one of which has an altar and several cubicles that still retain the remains of plaster ; the garden, on the other hand, preserves capitulated columns that were part of the peristyle and several frescoed walls: in the same room there are the oecus , an exedra and a triclinium, while in the kitchen there remains a hearth and a lararium with faded frescoes.
House of a Potter (9) - It is named for the discovery of numerous objects, such as bowls and lamps in ceramics : the house presents the classic model of Roman houses, like atrium with impluvium tuff, surrounded by cubicles, tablinum and the garden peristyle that preserves almost completely the columns with capitals and grooves along the stucco sides are intact.
Doctor's House (24) - Also called the House of Judgment of Solomon it was excavated in 1841 and 1882 : the second name of the house is due to the discovery of a fresco depicting pygmies during the judgment of Solomon , but from the same environment also come a fresco of pygmies feasting and a another of pygmies on the Nile ; the house has no particular architectural variations, except for the rectangular-shaped impluvium.
Lime House (28) - Also known as the House of Popidius Celsinus, it was explored at various times between 1815 and 1943 and has an atrium with tufa impluvium , around which there are various environments such as cubicles and oecus that show traces of plaster and floors: once past the tablinum accesses the peristyle with numerous surviving columns that enclose the garden area.
House of the Red Walls (37) - Also called Casadellà Family Fabia lent some electoral inscriptions on the facade: passed the entrance leads directly to the atrium with impluvium and lararium a niche in which were discovered six statuettes in bronze and painted part still central; in various environments traces of wall decorations are preserved, some entirely intact and with a characteristic Pompeian red coloring .
House of Acceptus and Euhodia (39) - It was explored in 1881 and two bodies were found inside it : one of a child , whose cast and skeleton of a woman was executed ; remains of wall decorations are conserved in numerous rooms of the house and almost all characterized by a plinth in black with drawings of plants and central panels in yellow, while statuettes in marble are preserved in the archaeological museum of Naples.

 

Insula 7 (Pompeii)

House of the Sculptor (24) - It was excavated in 1773 , 1796 and 1867 and has a rather complex architecture, as it is divided into two sections on different floors: the lower part is where the atrium is located and was used as a craft workshop, while the upper part was dedicated to daily life with cubicles, triclinium and garden; several frescoes have been found, including a fragment found in the peristyle, depicting Nilotic scenes.

 

 

 

Regio IX (Pompeii)

Regio IX occupies the central part of Pompeii. The district is bordered in the north by Via di Nola, to the west by Via Stabiana, and on the south by delle Abbondanza. Most of the area remains buried. Regio consists of 14 Insulas. Of these, the Insula 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, and 14 contain buildings that are discussed in more detail here. The area is a combination of residential and commercial premises, with shops along the street while the houses occupy the inner parts of the neighborhoods.

Undoubtedly in this quarter, the riches are rich and many beautiful mansions remain here. However, it should be noted separately House K. Julius Polybius. It recreated furniture according to the remains that were found here during the excavations. In addition, many household items were also left in place. This makes the house lively and very interesting. All the other private houses of Pompeii are certainly beautiful, but they do not have that feeling of life and life. It seems the owners came out for a second and now come back. In addition, six skeletons were found here and apparently one of them (a man of 60- 64 years old) and was Julius Polybius himself.

 

Central Baths (Pompeii)

 

Insula 1 (Pompeii)

House of Epidius Sabinus (22)

House of the Diadumeni

House of Paccius Alexander (7) - It is a small house of just under two hundred square meters: the atrium has in a wall remains of the decorations with three niches, one of which is decorated with a shell , used as a lararium ; among the best preserved areas is the triclinium , with frescoes in the fourth style , including a woman with a peacock and a man with the same animal, while others have been detached and kept in the National Archaeological Museum of Naples.
House of M. Epidio Rufo (20) - It is characterized by a large door and a Corinthian atrium with sixteen columns, four and a half meters high. Noteworthy is the lararium, with a dedication to the master and the lares of the house and the traces of paintings on the tablinum, with subjects of stylized plants and fantastic architecture, as well as a scene of Marsyas who challenges Apollo to play the tibia.
House of Sodom and Gomorrah (26) - It was excavated in 1858 and later in 1869 and is so called because both in the triclinium and in the cubicle a graffiti was found that referred to the cities of Sodom and Gomorrah. The house is a little over one hundred and thirty square meters, has six rooms and a central atrium.

 

Insula 2 (Pompeii)

House of the Fountain of Love (2) - It was explored in 1851 and the entrance is preceded by a shop: the house is of modest size and consists of a cubicle, a triclinium, which has remnants of wall decorations and a small garden, in which is a fountain, frescoed originally with a nymph who had a fountain-shaped crater in her hands from which water came out.
House of Chlorus and Caprasia (10) - Also called Casa del Gallo II in triclinio the most imported environment found: it is characterized by a ceiling in time and preserves its frescoes and along the walls and in the roof; even a cubicle near the peristyle has remains of wall decorations, but ruined by time: especially in the central scene of a panel Galatea and Polyphemus had to be depicted ; the house also had an upper floor.
Home of Titus Dentatius Panthera (16) - Also called Casa di Bellerofonte or Casa della Principessa Margherita still shows remains of frescoes on the entrance façade, as well as in the atrium where Bellerofonte was painted, then detached to be preserved in the National Archaeological Museum of Naples: the house also had in some environments a floor in cocciopesto and in others a mosaic, while among the other frescoes found a painting depicting the three Graces.
Home of Q. Brittius Balbus (17) - After a short entrance corridor, it has an atrium, around which there are several rooms including cubicles with remains of the stucco and plaster decoration: in the same room there is also a hearth and several niches used as larars; in the area of ​​the garden there are the triclinium and an exedra, while of the peristyle only two columns remain with sparse stucco decorations, as well as a puteal.
House of Curvius Marcellus and Fabia (18) - It features an atrium with impluvium in marble and walls, as well as those of the cubicles and the triclinium, with the remains of pictorial decorations in yellow, red and black; past the tablinum, one enters the garden with the remains of the bases of the columns and of a lararium, while in the kitchen one can observe the hearth and a latrine.
House of M. Casellius Marcellus (26) - It was excavated in 1869 : the atrium has a characteristic niche-supported lararium supported by a high red-painted podium , on which two yellow snakes can be seen, although faded ; then follows the tablinum and the garden.
House of the Wedding of Neptune and Amphitrite (27) - Also called House of princess Margherita or House of Great Toscana it was explored in 1849 and 1869 : in the rooms of the house you can still see remains of the wall decoration, even if the main finds, represented by mosaics, have been detached and preserved in the archaeological museum of Naples, such as the representation of Neptune and Amphitrite and a depiction of fish and ducks.

 

Insula 3 (Pompeii)

House of Marcus Lucretius (5) - It belonged to a city decurion , and a priest of Mars ; it presents an atrium with lararium, a tablinum and a hanging garden enriched with marble statues : A staircase led to the upper floor, while decorations, partly detached and preserved the archaeological museum of Naples , remain small squares with mythological subjects and fantastic architecture, typical of the fourth style , like the triumph of Bacchus.

House of Philocalus (15) - It had a painting of Mercury and Minerva on the facade, while in the entrance corridor was placed the staircase that led to the upper floor: the atrium has impluvium and puteal and around rooms with traces of wall decorations including the representation of Isis with a cornucopia and at its feet a globe , preserved in the national archaeological museum, the garden has a colonnade on three sides and a lararium.
House of L. Clodius Varus and Pelagia (25) - It was explored in 1871 and measures just over a hundred square meters with only five rooms: in one of them a graffiti was found, placed in the area where there was to be a bed , with the two names by which the house is nicknamed and probably referred to the two spouses who lived there.

 

Insula 5 (Pompeii)

House of the Restaurant (14)

House of Jason (18)

Achilles House (2) - Also called House of the Skeleton or House of Stronnius, it was excavated in 1877 and has remains of paintings, both along the walls and reduced to squares to be exhibited at the Neapolitan archaeological museum: in the cubicles around the atrium, Arianna , Dioniso and a Silenus and Venus with a ram , while in a room near the garden, in a panel, is the depiction of Hephaestus carrying the armor to Achilles.
House of the Pygmies (9) - It is so called because in a room there is a fresco depicting scenes of daily life of pygmies along the course of the Nile river : towers , temples and various animals are also observed , among which a hippopotamus ; the house has the classic layout of Roman houses , with atrium, tablinum and peristyle.

 

Insula 6 (Pompeii)
House of PFL (3) - It is so called because inside it was found a ring that had engraved these letters: it is composed of an atrium with scarce remains of the impluvium , on which several rooms open; then follows the tablinum and the garden where there is a tank and on which the triclinium opens: there are few wall decorations, while the cocciopesto flooring with white tesserae in the vestibule area has been lost.
Piramus House (4) - It was explored in 1878 but was later heavily bombed in 1943 causing the destruction of the atrium and four rooms: the best preserved part is that of the garden, with surviving remains of columns, in which a lararium was opened.
House of Oppius Gratus (5) - It was under renovation at the time of ' eruption of Vesuvius in 79 as most of the walls were in a raw state and were also found many tools used for renovation it is arranged around the atrium with impluvium in tuff , then follows the tablinum, the garden with remains of the peristyle and the triclinium, inside which jewels , coins and three bronze statuettes of divinities were found.
House of the Lararium of Venus (8) - Partly still to be excavated, it has an irregular layout with eight rooms that open around the atrium, which also leads directly to the garden, where the lararium that gives the house its name is located: the interior of the niche is covered in yellow stucco and at the center a tree with birds was drawn , at the base was a statue adorned with a mask , while in the area of ​​the tympanum traces of stucco decorations.
House of Dido and Aeneas (D) - It was investigated in 1868 and in 1879, returning numerous frescoes, some of which were lost, others preserved in the National Archaeological Museum of Naples: on one wall of the entrance corridor was the representation of Arianna abandoned by Theseus , on the wall of the triclinium a fragment of fresco of Dido and Aeneas , which gives the house its name, and mermaids ; in other environments then, the painting of Polyphemus and that of Daedalus and Icarus.
House of C. Cornelius (G) - It has not yet been fully explored: the first investigations began in 1878 ; of the house is visible the atrium, the tablinum and the garden, even if part of his peristyle, together with four rooms were destroyed during the second world war : among the main decorations found, but then lost, a fresco of a medallion with the head of Venus and a lararium supported by columns.
House of Clodius Attalus (G) - It was partially excavated and then buried again: it was called in this way because an electoral inscription was found on its façade with the name Clodius Attalus.

 

Insula 7 (Pompeii)

House of Fortuna (20)

Taberna of the Four Divinities (1) - Also known as the House of Venus and the Four Gods, it is a partially excavated house that still has some well-preserved remains of frescoes on its façade: you can see a scene of the procession in honor of Cybele , Diana , Mercury, Jupiter , Apollo, Venus Pompeiana and the bust of Dionysus in a niche.
House of the Pompeian Sittii (3) - Also called P. House Sittius Coniunctus was partially explored in 1912 : you only notice the entrance between two pilasters with capitals in Corinthian order , while electoral inscriptions on the facade have been lost.
Verecundus house (6) - It was partially excavated in 1912 and it is possible to observe only the external façade where a fresco depicting Venus pulled by horses and in the lower compartment the type of work, the production of cloth , which was carried out in the adjoining workshop, is preserved.
Mountain Populous House (9) - It has been partially explored in 1912 : only is visible in the facade, where it was possible to obtain casts in plaster of the doors of the door entrance; at the time of the excavation several electoral recommendations were painted on the wall.
House of A. Virnius Modestus (16) - Also known as the House of the Trojan Horse, it is excavated exclusively in the atrium part: however, several wall decorations have been found, some still visible, especially in the plinth, others detached to be preserved in the National Archaeological Museum of Naples, such as the depiction of the entrance of the Trojan horse.
Mirror House (19) - It is so called because of the discovery of a piece of glass in one of its rooms: over one hundred and fifty square meters wide and divided into more than ten rooms, inside there are remains of colored plaster on the walls, many of which have been lost, such as the fresco of a peacock and Diana with the head crowned with leaves : most of the paintings were in third style.

 

Insula 8 (Pompeii)

House of the Centennial (6)

Epicurean philosophical school (2) - In addition to several electoral inscriptions found at the time of the excavation on the outer wall, inside there are traces of wall decorations in white and red, among which there is a well preserved depiction of a sacred landscape, then detached, and several graffiti.
Primigenia house (8) - Partially excavated, it featured electoral inscriptions on the outer walls, while inside it was found a lararium decorated with horns and a garland and a fresco depicting Theseus leaving Arianna on the island of Naxos.
Hospitium of C. Hyginius Firmus (B) - So called because of a graffiti found on a wall, it covers an area of ​​about one hundred and sixty square meters: it is divided into nine rooms and has traces of frescoes on the walls.

 

Insula 9 (Pompeii)

House of Sulpicius Rufus (C) - Also called House of Porcellino takes its name from both a fresco of the kitchen depicting a pig and from a seal found near the entrance bearing the name of Sulpicius Rufus: the house preserves many remains of frescoes in different environments both in third and in fourth style, as for example in the cubicles around the atrium, where the almost completely intact decorative panels are observed either in the triclinium or in the kitchen.

House of Vinaio (6) - It was used both as a shop and as a dwelling and was excavated in 1887 : the house has an irregular layout with a small atrium with a cubicle, the tablinum and the garden with a small niche lararium, originally stuccoed in white.
House of P. Aemili Celeris (G) - It owes its name to several graffiti found several times on the main façade : it is a small house of just sixty-five square meters, divided into four rooms; inside there are meager remains of the wall decoration, especially in the triclinium area, while the frescoed lararium , placed in the kitchen, has been lost.

 

Insula 11 (Pompeii)
House of Cn. Audius Bassus (1) - It has not yet been excavated, except the façade in 1911 , which restored the remains of a fresco depicting a procession to a sanctuary ; in addition to the entrance there were graffiti, lost.
House of Cornelius Maximus (7) - It has not yet been fully explored and only the part of the facade is visible, which presents some electoral inscriptions and two paintings depicting Hercules and Minerva , the latter however lost.

 

Insula 12 (Pompeii)

House of the Chaste Lovers (6)

House of the Painters at Work (9)

House of C. Julius Polybius

House of Cenacolo Colonnato I (1) - It is a still partially excavated house, of which only the façade is visible, which has the particularity of having a second floor realized through the use of columns; a large amphora was also found near the house.
House of Cenacolo Colonnato II (4) - It was partially explored in 1912 and then damaged by a bombing in 1943 : the house has a two-storey façade, with the second supported by columns, while inside, in the few rooms brought to light, remains of pictorial decorations.

 

Insula 13 (Pompeii)
Giulio Polibio's house (3) - It consists of an atrium with decorations in the first style , a service area with a kitchen and painted lararium , a peristyle with frescoes in the third style , in which the casts of wardrobes and doors and a triclinium were obtained , depicting Amphion and Zetus to Dirce : the same environment was also found a statue of Apollo in bronze.
House of M. Fabius Ululitremulus (5) - It was partially excavated in 1913 and in 1970 and only the façade on which there are some graffiti is visible, while at the time of the excavation there were also some frescoes such as the one depicting Romulus and Aeneas with his father Anchises.

 

Insula 14 (Pompeii)

House of M. Obellius Firmus (4) It dates back to the Samnite period: consisting of two entrances, it has a second floor through which it was accessed with three staircases. Most of the decoration of the environments, such as the oecus, the tablinum and the atrium are in second style and worthy of note are a medallion with the depiction of Obelio son and of his wife and the scene of a banquet ; the house also has a garden.

 

 

Pompeii Gates and Streets

 

Pompeii Gates and StreetsLike any other major city in the ancient Roman Empire, Pompeii was protected by towers and defensive walls. The city walls that reached 3 kilometers (3220 meters) in length with 12 towers defended the weakest regions in the defense of the city. Many of the city’s towers were built back in the 6th and 5th centuries BC. Later, the Romans rebuilt some of them. As a material for the construction of the fortress walls, the inhabitants of Pompeii used tufa (light, porous rock) for the exterior cladding. The space between the stone walls was filled with earth. The walls were strong enough, and construction accelerated significantly.

There were seven gates through which it was possible to get into the city. These were the Porta Marina or the Sea Gate, the Herculane Gate, the Vesuvian Gate, the Nola Gate, the Sarno, the Nuceria Gates and the Stabiae Gates. Some guides talk about the gates of Capua, but in fact no evidence about the existence of these gates was found during archaeological excavations. Between the Herculane and the Vesuvian Gate, we can see the damage. These are the consequences of the bombing of Roman siege weapons during the siege of Sulla.

The Vesuvian Gate and the Gate of Sarno are in poorest state of preservation. A 62 year earthquake caused serious damage to the entire city. Since the Romans were accustomed to living in a world without invading barbarians from the North, the municipal authorities were not in a hurry to repair the military fortifications.

 

Pompeii City Walls and Towers

 

Stabia Gate

Nocera Gate

Necropolis at the Nocera Gate

Sarno Gate

Nola Gate

Vesuvius Gate

Herculaneum Gate

Porta Marina (Marina Gate or Sea Gate)

 

Main Streets of Pompeii

By planning the streets of Pompeii, you can easily recognize the original settlement of the Oskan people from the districts of Pompeii that were added later. As the Roman way of life gradually became established in the city, the layout acquired the strict direction of straight streets, which intersected at right angles. The irregular arrangement of the streets is still evident around the territory of the Forum, but such chaotic buildings were replaced by the Roman tradition of building the city. The grid of roads of Pompeii consisted of streets that went from east to west (Decumani) and from north to south (Cardi). We will discuss some of the main streets in more detail here. All street names are modern, but the ancient names of some Pompeii streets are known.

Via delle Abbondanza (Decumanus Maximus)
Via delle Abbondanza was one of the two main cities of Decumani (the other Via di Nola was almost parallel to its continuation of Via Dell Fortuna and Via delle Terme). This street has an orientation from east to west. The street got its name thanks to the fountain at one of the intersections, which was mistakenly identified with the personification of the Plentiful gifts. Abbondanza in Italian means "abundance". Later it became clear that the image had nothing to do with abundance, and most likely had a simple decorative purpose. However, the name of the street decided not to change.

The western part of Via dell 'Abbondanza connected the streets of Stabiana, Cardo Maximus, with the Forum, after which the street continued under the name of Via Marina or Sea Street. The first segment of Via delle Abbondanza belongs to the very early stage of development of Pompeii, which grew up around the Forum. As the city continued to expand, the street was expanded beyond the Via Stabiana until it reached the Sarno Gate.

This long street linked the most important areas of the city from the Forum in the west to the Stabina Banya and the amphitheater with the Great Palestra in the east. The intersection with Via Stabiana was known as the intersection of Holconius, in honor of the statue of M. Holconius Rufus, who once stood here. Not far away was the Holconius Rufus House itself.


Via Stabiana (Cardo Maximus)
Via Stabiana or Cardo Maximus as it was called by the ancient Romans, is one of the three main roads of Pompeii, which were oriented from north to south. The rest of the cardo roads were Via di Mercurio, Via del Foro, Via delle Scula and Via di Nozera.

The Via Stabiana road in antiquity was one of the oldest. It led outside the city to the neighboring city of Stabia and Sorrentum in the South. Hence the modern name of the street itself. As the city developed, the road became the main artery with the axis from north to south. The road ran from the Vesuvian Gate in the north and united the parallel streets of Decumani Via dell Abbondanza and Via di Noli. These streets thus form the pattern of the street grid.

Pay attention to the stones on the roads. These are pedestrian crossings. During the rains, the drainage system could not cope with all the water and the streets often flooded. Pedestrians could cross the roads on these stones without wetting their feet. At the same time, carts and carriages could pass between the stones.

Via Consolare (Via Consolare)
Via Consolare forms the northwestern boundary of the street network of Pompeii. Part of the street runs parallel to the city walls. It was one of the most ancient roads of the city. She led to the nearby city of Kuma. Its obvious cultural and commercial significance was complemented by the fact that it led to Salina Hercules or the salty lagoon. This region was located on the coast near the town of Torre Annunziata. Here salt was mined for citizens. Hence the ancient name of the street Via Sarina or Salt Road. By the way, the Gerkulan’s Gate, through which Via Consolare passes, was also called Vera Sarina or the Salt Gate.

Around the middle of the 2nd century BC Via Consolare, like other city streets, was paved with polygonal basalt blocks. The road stones (cippi), written in Oscan, testify to this and say that the aedils of the Samnite period paved this road.

 

 

Country Villas in Pompeii

Outside the city of Pompeii (in the north-west) you can see several villas that belonged to the richest and most influential people in the city. People who lived here did not want to hustle and walk through the narrow streets of the city. They preferred to live in nature. Pax Romana or the Roman world, begun by Emperor Octavian Augustus, convinced the Romans that their empire was invincible and that power over the conquered nations and tribes was unshakable. They were not afraid to settle outside of the defensive walls of the city of Pompeii. Here you can see the most beautiful frescoes, which in many ways became a symbol of ancient Roman art. In order to get here you need to get out of the Gate of Herculanum. On the left were the Villas of Diomedes and then Villa Cicero.

 

Villa Imperiale

Villa of Cicero

Villa of Diomedes

Villa of the Figured Capitals

Villa of the Mysteries

 

 

The last day of Pompeii. Karl Brullov

The last day of Pompeii. Karl Brullov

The painting "The Last Day of Pompeii" by the great Russian artist Karl Bryullov largely shaped our understanding of the last hours of the city of Pompeii and its inhabitants. However, the dramatic canvas has little to do with the historic truth of the last hours of Pompeii. The fact is that Pompeii was destroyed in almost 24 hours (for a detailed description of the death of the city, see the link to the Pompeii Last Day chronology). Those who tried to escape immediately began to leave the city in the afternoon. They have escaped and made it to safety. Those who decided to wait out, took refuge in the houses. They heard with horror how small, light pieces of pumice fell on the houses, forming a thick layer. Some large houses could not withstand the weight of rocks and collapsed, burying all households under the tones of volcanic rocks. It is worth noting that not all the inhabitants of Pompeii remained at home. Some decided to visit the local baths in the morning. What they thought is hard to say. Apparently they tried to keep calm members of their household and neighbors. The streets of the city were almost empty. Only some thieves decided to take to the streets in search of easy prey. Thus, in the house of Menander, a whole gang of thieves, who, armed with picks, shovels and a lamp, wandered around Pompeii and were buried by a collapsing building.

There were those who tried to escape in the last hours, in the morning. So in the Garden of the Fugitives, archaeologists found three groups of runaways who died only meters from the city gates.

By the way, the image of a Christian priest on a canvas is remarkable. In the section on Christianity (see above) we gave some evidence about the existence of the Christian church. But that's not all. In the section on the most interesting facts about Pompeii, you can find out who among those mentioned in the New Testament perished in Pompeii.

The canvas itself can rather be used as an allegory of unsuccessful relations between Karl Bryullov (in the picture in the upper left corner with a box of brushes and paints on his head) and Julia Samoilova. By the way, the artist embodied her features in three women on the canvas, and her adoptive daughters were also represented.

 

 

Pompeii and the Coliseum

It would seem strange that destruction of Pompeii have anything to do with the construction of the main arena in Rome and the whole empire. However, the connection is quite straightforward. New Roman Emperor Titus ascended (23 June 79) throne just two months before the eruption. The death of a large city and many small settlements severely hit the image of the new emperor. Of course, he did his best to help the surviving inhabitants of Pompeii and other citizens of the region financially. He also visited the region twice. The lunar landscape he saw made a heavy impression on him.

To improve his personal popularity, he ordered the construction of the Coliseum to be accelerated. Many private businesses were invited to complete the lining of the amphitheater. Due to the great haste, these groups began working without checking their rulers and measurement units. As a result some layers are uneven. You can see where these layers meet. These are exactly the places where the groups of workers met. But the Romans were pragmatic people. They were concerned about function, not accuracy. Moreover, these irregularities are not very significant.

 

 

People and animals of Pompeii

 

Pompeii Archeological site is one of the most unique places in human history. It offers a rear snapshot of lives that people lived, their clothes as well as various items of everyday life. Many bodies were destroyed in the process of chaotic eruptions, however they left empty niches and fragments of the skeletons. Archaeologists poured plaster inside those spaces to get a shape of a person that was killed by the volcano. There have been found over 1000 bodies in the city of Pompeii. Many more are awaiting their discovery in the regions of the city that are yet to be uncovered. They tell about appearance of the people, their last seconds and in some case reveal interesting details of their personal lives.

 

More on Pompeii victims

 

 

Christianity and Judaism in Pompeii

Christians lived in Pompeii and one of the graffiti on the wall of the House of Christians tells us about it. This is the oldest mention of Christians and Christianity in the Roman Empire. You can read more in the article at the link above (Christianity). Therefore, the Christian priest in the picture of Karl Bryullov "Last Day of Pompeii" is quite realistic. The first Christians in this region apparently appeared after the preaching of the Apostle Paul, who visited the neighboring town of Puteoli at the northern end of the Gulf of Naples.

The Jews also lived in Pompeii. At least the history has kept us the name of Drusilla, who died with her son Mark Antony Agrippa. Herod Agrippa’s daughter and wife of Judea’s prosecutor Anthony Felix, she was the granddaughter of Herod the Great himself. That same Herod, who tried to find and execute Jesus Christ shortly after his birth. Herod also restored the Second Temple. By the way Drusilla herself is also mentioned in the Bible.

Acts of the Holy Apostles (24:24): "Several days later, when Felix came with his wife Drusilla, who was Jewish, he sent for Paul and listened to him on the subject of faith in Christ Jesus."

However, archeologists have not yet found any artifacts associated with Judaism. This is quite understandable. At the time of the eruption only 9 years have passed since the destruction of Jerusalem. Therefore, local Jews (if they really were free people, not slaves) hid and did not flaunt the signs of their religion.

 

 

Public Buildings and Crafts of Pompeii

The houses of the ancient Romans did not differ in diversity. It cannot be said that they were built under one carbon copy, but in general they followed the same plan. For more information about everyday life and Roman houses, see the links above (House and Street) to learn about Roman architecture and general city planning. Many aspects of the city will become clearer.

Under the Romans, Pompeii underwent an extensive process of urban development, especially during the period of Augustus. Public buildings include an amphitheater, a palestra with central sodium (cella natatoria) or a swimming pool and an aqueduct providing water for more than 25 street fountains, at least four public baths, and a large number of private houses (houses) and businesses. Modern scholars have called the amphitheater a model of sophisticated design, especially in the area of ​​crowd control.

In addition to the forum, many other service areas were found: Makellum (excellent grocery market), Pistrinum (mill), Thermopolium (fast food place serving hot and cold dishes and drinks) and cauponae (small cafes) with a bad reputation, habitat for thieves and prostitution services. An amphitheater and two theaters were found, along with Palestra or the gymnasium (sports complex). Hotel (1000 square meters) was found near the city; It is now called the Grand Hotel Muretsin. Geothermal energy is supplied with channel heating for baths and houses. At least one building, Lupanar, was dedicated to prostitution. First floor had small rooms for common citizens. While the second floor was more open and held lavish sex orgies. Unfortunately second floor is usually closed to tourists.

Modern archaeologists excavated gardens and urban areas to identify the main agricultural products in the economy of Pompeii. Pompeii was fortunate to have a fertile, fertile patch of soil for collecting various crops. It was found that the soil around Vesuvius, prior to its eruption, has good water-holding properties, which means access to productive agriculture. Winds from the Tyrrhenian Sea provided soil moisture, despite the hot and dry climate. Barley, wheat and millet were produced together with wine and olive oil, abundant for export to other regions.

Evidence of the importation of wine from Pompeii at the national level in the most prosperous years can be found from artifacts found, such as wine bottles in Rome. For this reason, the vineyards were of great importance for the economy of Pompeii. The agricultural politician Columella suggested that every vineyard in Rome should produce a quota of three sorts of wine per yagerum, otherwise the vineyard would be uprooted. Nutrient-rich lands near Pompeii were extremely effective in this regard and could often exceed these requirements by a wide margin, thus creating incentives for local wineries. While wine was exported for the economy of Pompeii, most other agricultural commodities were probably produced in quantities corresponding to the consumption of the city.

The remnants of large formations built wineries were found in the forum Boarium, covered with cemented casts from the eruption of Vesuvius. It is assumed that these historic vineyards are strikingly similar in structure to modern vineyards throughout Italy.

Charred remains of food plants, roots, seeds and pollen have been found in the gardens of Pompeii, Herculaneum and the Roman villa in Torre Annunziata. They found that wheat, Italian millet, common millet, walnuts, pine nuts, chestnuts, hazelnuts, olives, figs, pears, onions, garlic, peaches, carob, grapes, dates, and more were consumed here.

 

 

Toilets, pipes and everything related to water and sewage

Undoubtedly, the Romans were gods of engineering. They managed to build entire underground labyrinths to supply water to the city, as well as the drainage system (pictured above) in order to drain this water from the city. Surprisingly, the system of Pompeii still works. It is also almost surprising that Roman roads have been used for over 2000 years and there are no potholes in them, but Roman roads are a separate topic.

If you go home to private shops in Pompeii, you will notice that there is a small room in all of them. It is usually far away at home or under the stairs. They did their business in the toilets in the houses. Separate underground system brought these impurities out of the city. By the way, these moves became an interesting source of knowledge about the diet among the inhabitants of Pompeii.

 

Roman toilets Pompeii

The largest public toilets on the Pompeii Forum.

 

 

Restaurants in Pompeii

Citizens of Pompeii lived in a large metropolis for its time. Unlike rich families, poor people huddled in small houses in which there were no kitchens. Fires were frequent, and homeowners sometimes simply did not want to risk their homes for the sake of the comfort of those who “had come.” Therefore, they did not allow anything to be fried or cooked at home.

The Romans were an enterprising people and many taverns or thermopoly (Greek: "warm city") prepared cheap food for the citizens of Pompeii. The food was cooked in large kitchens, and stored in large amphoras, which kept warm. When visitors came, the host put out a meal on the "tavolta calda" or a hot table in front of the guest.

 

 

Pompeian paintings

In more detail you can get acquainted if you pass to the detailed description of these or those buildings.

Before the discovery of Pompeii, information about Roman painting was scarce and fragmented, and rare examples were limited to fragments of frescoes found in isolated cases. However, the discovery of the city with its rich, picturesque heritage made it possible to begin a new discussion on the whole question of Roman art. Based on the research and classification made by Vitruvio, the paintings are usually divided into 4 styles:
1 style: known as "inlay" or "structural" style. This was a common occurrence between the 2nd century and the middle of the 1st century BC. This is a simple and modest painting style: thanks to the use of plaster and colors, which are dominated by black, yellow and red, it tends to imitate marble panels.
2 style: it existed until the middle of I century AD. It is known as perspective architecture or simply architectural because, in addition to artificial marble facings, it reproduces colonnades, arches and buildings that are visible in perspective. The result is an imaginary space with increasing or decreasing effects. The great cycle of the Mysteries in the eponymous villa belongs to this period. At its most advanced stage, glimpses of the countryside are drawn between imaginary buildings.
3 style: called "real painting" and refers to the I century AD. He sees a return to a simpler style. The background becomes flat and displayed in one color: the figures are decorated, and the decorative elements are underlined. Painting III style is also known as "Egyptian", as the ornament often resembles the ancient Egyptian motifs.
4 style: known as “architectural illusionism” or “ornamental”. Its characteristics resemble a picture of the second period, but the composition is becoming increasingly exaggerated and unreal. It was an attempt to expand the walls by creating imaginary spaces.

 

 

Mosaic in Pompeii

Mosaic ornaments were widely used in decorating houses in Pompeii and saw different stages of development. The oldest examples are works made with simple motifs, using a tesser from coarse work and modest material; on the other hand, those that were in later eras demonstrate sophistication in their composition, taste, color and jewelry used by tesser. In the first period, the works are characterized by repetition of simple geometric motifs or repetition of pictorial drawings of the second, third and fourth stages. Mosaics are often used as floor coverings. There are several remarkable examples: the famous Canum Canem, installed at the entrance to many houses, is perhaps the most famous of many that survived. Literally, it means "beware of the dog." Sometimes it was written simply "hello" in Latin. The panel depicting the Battle of Alexander, located in the Archaeological Museum in Naples and originating from the House of the Faun, is, however, one of the most important and magnificent examples.

 

 

Sculpture in Pompeii

The sculptures that have been preserved show that in Pompeii there was a preference for small statues, given that they were designed for decorative purposes in order to be built into rooms and gardens, for the decoration of fountains, atriums or table-rails. Large statues, those that had a memorable function, were mainly located on the Forum. The favorite material was bronze, although there are many small masterpieces of marble, tuff and terracotta. “Dancing Faun”, “Drunk Silen” and “Wild Boar Under Attack” are some of them that combine refined craftsmanship with the freshness and immediacy of their design. Particular mention should be made of "Dorifor", an excellent copy of the magnificent Greek sculpture. There are various fragments of statues originating mostly from the Forum area and from the temples dedicated to the Capitoline Triad.

Unlike our statues, the Romans painted their statues in bright colors. Just over time, the colors were erased so that our imitation of Roman culture turned out to be somewhat inaccurate.

 

 

Graffiti in Pompeii

The walls of houses in Pompeii are often covered with inscriptions: these are election campaign messages that encourage citizens to vote for one candidate or another. Sometimes whole categories of workers (jewelers, bricklayers, bakers, blacksmiths) supported the candidacy. In other cases, the novice judge nominates his candidacy for a specific position. They are written in red or black and mostly in capital letters. They were made by professional scribes, who also dealt with official reports, court sentences, buying and selling slaves, and public decisions.

In Pompeii, there are about three thousand electoral inscriptions, and most of them can be dated to the last year of the city, given that it was decided to erase the old inscriptions in order to make room for new ones.

Graffiti, on the other hand, are messages that were made by scratches on the walls of houses: they relate to the most diverse topics and paint an extremely vivid and frank picture of modern public life: they include risky jokes, comments on a particular person or event, caricatures on famous people, thoughts of love, as well as grateful remarks about a beautiful woman or pleasure, experienced in the solitude of one of the rooms in a brothel. In addition, there are several that are associated with the purchase and sale of materials or livestock, as well as with the calculation of goods. Many refer to recreational activities offered in the city, or praise the champions experienced in gladiator games.

In the description of each building a more detailed description of these graffiti.

 

 

Pompeii conservation

The objects of Pompeii, buried underground, have been well preserved for nearly 2,000 years. The lack of air and moisture allowed objects to remain underground with virtually no damage. After the excavations, the site provided a variety of source materials and evidence for analysis, detailing the life of Pompeians. However, after exposure, Pompeii is exposed to both natural and man-made forces, which are quickly aggravated. For example, during the war, American planes bombed the ancient city.

Weathering, erosion, exposure to light, water damage, poor excavation and reconstruction methods, introduced plants and animals, tourism, vandalism and theft - all of this somehow damaged the object. Two thirds of the city was excavated, but the remains of the city are deteriorating rapidly.

Concern for the preservation of constantly troubled archaeologists. The ancient city was incorporated in 1996 by the World Monuments Observation World Monuments Fund, and again in 1998 and 2000. In 1996, the organization declared that Pompeii "is in desperate need of repair," and called for a general plan for restoration and interpretation. The organization supported the preservation in Pompeii with the financial support of American Express and the Samuel H. Kress Foundation.

Today financing is mainly aimed at preserving Pompeii; however, due to the magnitude of Pompeii and the magnitude of the problems, this is not enough to stop the slow decay of materials. An estimated $ 335 million is needed for all the work needed on Pompeii. A recent study recommended an improved strategy for interpreting and presenting an object as a cost-effective method for improving its conservation and preservation in the short term.

In June 2013, UNESCO stated: “If restoration and conservation work does not bring significant progress over the next two years,” Pompeii may be included on the List of World Heritage in Danger.

 

 

Tourism in Pompeii

 

 

 

Information  about Pompeii
PompeiIn info@pompeiin.com +39 3284134719 offers several itineraries in ancient Pompeii lasting from 1 hour to 6 hours. The guides are local, licensed and graduated in archeology; they are able to provide children and visits adapted for the disabled, and with their vast knowledge of ancient history and society they are able to make ancient Pompeii come to life. The most outstanding aspects of the city are covered, such as the Forum, the Baths, the brothel, the bakeries, the House of the Faun and the House of the Tragic Poet, the amphitheater, the theaters, the Villa of the Mysteries, the cemeteries and The fortifications of the city.

 

Geographical overview of Pompeii
The city of Pompei rises on a volcanic plateau 30 meters above sea level, on the southern side of Vesuvius, and a short distance from the mouth of the river Sarno.

 

The excavations in Pompeii
Pompeii was first discovered between 1592 and 1600 during the construction of the Sarno Canal that had to bring the river's waters to the nearby Torre Annunziata. However, the official beginning of the excavations took place only in 1748, under the reign of Charles of Bourbon, ten years after the first investigations in the soil of Herculaneum. Initially the excavations were carried out in a non-systematic way, with the simple objective of recovering valuable objects and decorations. It was only in 1763, when an inscription bearing its name was found in Porta Ercolano, that it was certain that those remains belonged to the ancient Pompeii and not, as some hypothesized, to Stabia. With the French domination, in the middle of the Enlightenment period, the research was aimed at reconstructing the topography of the city through extensive excavations. With the return of the Bourbons, the excavations continued especially in the north-western part of the city, where there were sensational discoveries such as the House of Faun.

 

With the Unity of Italy Giuseppe Fiorelli was appointed superintendent, and the excavation works had a fundamental change. The city was divided into regiones and insulae, the cast technique was introduced that allowed, pouring liquid plaster into the voids of the ground, to fix the last moments of life of men and animals. In the twentieth century with Amedeo Maiuri the extension of the excavations reached 44 hectares, and numerous facilities were built to facilitate the tourist use of the site. Following the terrible earthquake of 1980, the cataloging of the decorative heritage intensified,

Costume and society
The peculiarity of the site of Pompeii lies in the possibility of reconstructing with certainty the life in Roman times, along roads, visiting public buildings and private homes, entering the markets, and magnificent paintings, mosaics and everyday objects.

The rhythm of the sun marked the daily actions of the inhabitants of ancient Pompeii, the shops opened at dawn, and the Forum was filled with travelers and buyers, we went to the baths, also accessible to slaves, and frequented taverns, very numerous, for a hot meal or a game of dice. The amphitheater was the major attraction in the city, although fights between residents of Pompeii and their neigbours was a source of civil unrest. Widespread were also the lupanari, places dedicated to sexual pleasure, located in different parts of the city, to satisfy both the inhabitants and foreigners passing through. The cosmopolitan environment dictated by the presence of an active commercial port, led to the mixture of different religious beliefs, from oriental cults to Jews and even first Christians.

 

Permits / Rates

Hours
from 1 November to 31 March: every day from 8.30 am to 5.00 pm (last admission at 3.30 pm)
from 1 April to 31 October: every day from 8.30 to 19.30 (last entry at 18.00)

Entrances to Pompeii
Port Marina (Marine gate)
Piazza Anfiteatro
Piazza Esedra

Tickets  to Pompeii
Single (valid for 1 day)
Full € 11.00
Reduced € 5.50
With access to 5 sites (Pompeii, Herculaneum, Oplonti, Stabia, Boscoreale) - (valid for 3 days)
Full price: € 20.00
Reduced: € 10.00

Free admission for citizens of the European Union, and of states subject to conditions of reciprocity, under 18 (not completed) and over 65 years (already completed) of age.

Reduced admission (50%) for citizens of the European Union and of states subject to conditions of reciprocity between the ages of 18 and 25 years.

Reduced admission (50%) for teachers and presidents of the European Union (when they do not accompany school groups) with permanent assignments of state schools. Free admission for principals, teachers and students of the Faculties of Architecture, Conservation of Cultural Heritage, Education Sciences and degree courses in Literature or literary subjects with archaeological or historical-artistic address of the Faculties of Literature and Philosophy of the Universities and of the Academies of Fine EU Arts + ERASMUS in the aforementioned subjects.

Free admission for MIBAC staff, ICCROM Members, ICR, ICOM, ISIA, Mosaic Restoration School of Ravenna, Pietre Dure Opificio of Florence + Central Institute of Restoration of Rome. Disabled people UE + guide. Journalists registered in the Italian national register. Citizens of states with special agreements of reciprocity (Law 27.6.1985, No. 332) as indicated by the agreement itself.

Free and reduced tickets can only be issued upon presentation of a valid identity document.

For the visit to the Archaeological Excavations of Pompeii it is advisable to rely on an authorized guide info@pompeiin.com +39 3284134719

 

Audio guides available either at the InfoPoint train station or at the official entrance of € 6.50, € 10 for two people, ID is required. They are not available at the east side entrance of the Amphitheater - which is the entrance closest to the center of the city today, if you are walking. Unofficial audio guides offered at one of the market stalls near the entrance. Take into account that the audio guide maps are not the same and the official audio guide comes with more audio points of interest. It is a good idea to review the two options before deciding. Pompeii can take several hours to explore, so be sure to ask about the duration of the audio guide's battery before your purchase. Tour guides are also grouped near the entrance and offer their services. It is a good idea to speak with one for a couple of minutes before deciding, to make sure that you can understand their accent when they speak English. You can join a group of tourists with the InfoPoint train station for € 12 (ticket not included) or € 10 at the official ticket.

 

How to get to Pompeii

By bus

One of the easiest ways to get to Pompeii is by hopping SITA bus from Naples, Italy. It costs from €1.80 to €3.20 to hitch a ride here.

 

Train

You can travel to Pompeii by taking a train via Circumvesuviana Napoli-Sorrento line from Naples or Sorrento, Italy. The ride is fairly short. It takes about 30 to 40 minutes to get here. Its price ranges from €1.80 to €3.20. Get familiar yourself with a map of the train route to make sure you don't miss "Pompei Scavi" stop station, where you need to get off to reach Pompeii Archaeological Site. You can also leave your bags here for a low price of €1.5. As you get off station you can visit Tourist Information Center (50 meters away from station) to get more information about the site. Taking a map might be helpful if you don't want to get lost in this large settlement.

 

You can also travel to Pompeii from the Italian capital of Rome, Italy. You need to take a train from Termini to Naples. From there you need to changed trains by taking the escalator to the Circumvesuviana Napoli-Sorrento line. It costs €10.50 to get from Rome to Naples in one direction and another €1.80 to get from Naples to Pompeii itself.

 

Cruise

If you travel to Italy on a cruise you can take boat to the shore and then get a bus shuttle to Pompeii. Most of tourists who travel here by boat usually include visit to the ancient site as part of the travel arrangements.

 

Mobility inside the Archaeological site of Pompeii

Pompeii is assessible by foot. However, walking on the ancient Roman roads is tiring, especially in the heat of summer.
For strollers and wheelchair users, as well as people with mobility problems, the visit of Pompeii is only partially suitable. Disabled travelers should aim to enter the Piazza Anfiteatro, where the entrance has been designed to meet the needs of visitors with reduced mobility (and parents with strollers, too). Be careful with the main entrance to the Marine Gate, as it has a lot of stairs.

 

There are some bikes to rent, but surfaces that are very impractical. Keep in mind that walking the ancient Roman stone roads can be very tiring, especially in the summer heat with a lot of other tourists around. Everyone is going to walk on cobbled and irregular streets. The temperature ranges between 32 and 35 ° C in the summer. Be sure to drink plenty of water and watch your step as the old roads have slots in them where the cars ran. It is advisable to wear good shoes, sunscreen and a hat. There is a lot to see and I could take all day to see everything.

When buying your ticket, you should receive a map of Pompeii and a brochure that lists the main places of interest. However, these can sometimes be out of print or you may find that the only book available is in Italian. A site map is essential if you want to see a large amount in the shortest possible time. Even with a map visiting Pompeii is a bit like a trip to a labyrinth. Many of the roads, apparently open according to the map, become blocked by excavations or repairs, or, as happened in 2010, because a building collapsed. You might think that it is heading towards the exit, but then they have to turn around and retrace their steps to find another path.

 

Tips

  • Information about Pompeii is available at the entrances Porta Marina, Piazza Esedra and Piazza Anfiteatro .

  • The wild running dogs belong to the excavation area of ​​Pompeii, they can be sponsored, but the dogs are not abandoned.

  • Weather in Italy can be difficult to bear in summer months. It can easily reach 40C on hottest day. Keep this in mind and make sure you take plenty of water. Additionally you can cover your head and take sun tan to avoid sun burn.

  • The closest ATM to the site of Pompeii is that near Pompei Scavi train station. There is no way to get cash once you enter the site so take as much cash as you might need while you travel to the site.

  • Plan your visit in advance in Google Maps or Google Earth, or relive it later. There is Streetview coverage of part of the city and there are 3D models of many of the buildings. Bing Maps also offers very detailed oblique views of the city.

  • Buy a guide. Get the official guide (Pompeii: guide for the site, edited by Electa Napoli) in the bookstore on the site next to the box office. A lot of guides and maps are available, but this one perfectly combines the two.

  • Visit also the National Museum of Naples, where most of the best preserved mosaics and found elements of Pompeii are kept.

  • Visit also the site of sister Herculaneum, is that only a Circumvesuviana set aside and suffered a fate similar to Pompeii. Although it is a smaller site that was covered by a pyroclastic surge (instead of the ash and lapilli that covered Pompeii). This allowed some second plants to survive.

  • Take a look at random villas outside of Pompeii, as sometimes even small side rooms have incredible frescoes (wall paintings).

  • Do not miss the "Garden of the Fugitives" in the south-east part in plaster casts of several victims (unfortunately, including children) are on display in which they sank The plants in this garden have been reconstructed to match with the ancient growth, based on the study of gypsum models of the roots of plants.

  • Walk outside the gates of the city to the Villa of the Mysteries, one of the largest houses to come to us since ancient times. Even on a very hot day, it's worth the walk.

  • Insert a large memory card into your camera. There are hundreds of opportunities to take photos in Pompeii.

 

 

Food and Restaurants near Pompeii, Italy

On the way to the station, the official store entry charges try to sell things at very expensive prices, but the food is not exceptional. Drinks, especially freshly pressed orange and lemon juice, however, are fantastic, especially in the heat, although a bit expensive (€ 3.00 for a glass)
You can get a very good panino (stuffed bread bun) in some of the stands. The one on the closest end of the Porta Marina has fantastic ones.
There is also a cafeteria and a restaurant in the excavation area, north of the Forum. Not surprisingly, this is quite expensive and not very good. However, it is a good place to take a break and recover, especially with your air conditioning. If you do not have time to rest you can grab € 3 ice cream from a service window that faces the street. The restaurant has toilets, apparently the only ones on the site.

Al Gamberone
Location: Via Piave 36
Tel. 081 850 6814
Open: Wed- Mon

 

Canteen
Location: Via di Mercurio

 

President
Location: Piazza Schettini 12
www.ristorantepresident.it
Tel. 081 850 7245
Open: Tue- Sun
Closed: Mondays and late Sundays Nov- March, 2 weeks in Jan

 

 

Ristorante Lucullus
Location: Via Plinio 129
Tel. 081 061 3055
Open: 10:30am- 10pm June- Sept
10:30am- 4pm Tue- Sun, Oct- May

 

 

Go out and drink
Remember to bring enough water to drink as it is quite hot in the dusty streets. Keep the bottles empty to fill, as there are occasional water taps from the entire dispensing site instead of strange-smelling water that, however, appears to be drinkable.
Lemon and granita orange purchased from outside the site are a tasty way to cool off.

 

Hotels near Pompeii

Hotel Maiuri (4 stars), Via Acquasalsa, 20 A few minutes walk from the excavations and the center of the city. Free parking. € 65 - € 130.

B&B villa Rocla, Via S. Antonio, 15, ☎ +39 0815365544, info@villarocla.it 50 €. Check-in: Flexible hours, check-out: 11:00
B&B Eco, Via Sacra, 29, ☎ +39 327 1368348 , info@bbecopompei.it 50 €. Check-in: Flexible hours, check-out: 10:00.
B&B Elena, Via Minutella, 41, ☎ +39 3667425068 , bandbelena@outlook.com 50 €. Check-in: Flexible, check-out: 10.30.
Hotel Amleto, Via Bartolo Longo, 10,☎ +39 081 8631004 ,info@hotelamleto.it. Check-in: 15:00, check-out: 10:00

 

 

Stay safe

Mount Vesuvius is an active volcano and can explode at any time. Scientists have devised a system to detect impending eruptions, though, so feel free to navigate the ruins of Pompeii and fearlessly see falling ash and lapilli (pumice). It is more likely that you should be trying to protect yourself from pickpockets. The site attracts a large number of international visitors every day, and this money attracts thieves, in order to keep their valuables protected, especially near the entrances and the train station.

If you come by car, bear in mind not to park in the parking lot near the entrance to the archaeological zone. It's a trap for tourists! Although there is no price that appears at the entrance of the parking, you will be surprised to learn that it costs € 2 per hour when it comes to leaving, and you can not leave unless you pay. This means that if your visit to Pompeii lasts a whole day (which a site like this undoubtedly deserves) you may end up paying up to € 20 or more. You do much cheaper parking a few hundred meters up the hill in the city, and if you stay in one of the Pompeii hotels that usually have free parking.